Springfield College Home > Athletics > Wrestling

Wrestling Falls to Williams on the Road, 30-15

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass., January 24, 2007 - The Williams College wrestling team (10-5) defeated Springfield College tonight, 30-15. In the final home meet of the year, the Ephs did not disappoint, as they jumped out to a 21-0 lead after five matches and recorded three pins en route to the victory.

Sophomore Ethan Cohen, ranked fifth in New England at 125 pounds, started off the action with a tough, well-fought match in which he won 9-8 over Pride senior Ryan Hannigan (Wyantskill, N.Y.). Fellow sophomore Mike Penza followed that up with a pin at 133 pounds which put the Ephs up 9-0 early.

First-year Dylan Rittenburg at 141 pounds and sophomore Kyle Ayer at 197 pounds brought home the other two pins for the Ephs, as they both gained six points for the team. Also strong on the day were first-year Carl Breitenstein and junior Matt Stephen, who both claimed closed decisions.

What has become a trend for the Ephs this year is the reliability of junior captain Nic Miragliuolo. At 149 pounds, Miagliuolo won by decision, as he continues to be a force on the mat for this young Eph squad.

SC junior Jake Tyler (Gouverneur, N.Y.) won the Pride's first decision of the match, defeating Williams' Doug Washington at 165 pounds, 5-4. Junior Eliot Smith (Richville, N.Y.), ranked eighth in Division III at 184 pounds, pinned Mike Tcheyan at the 4:54 mark to earn SC six team points.

The other winner on the night for the Pride was sophomore Chris Brown (East Hartford, Conn.) with a pin in 59 seconds of Williams' Jim Bierman in the heavyweight division.

SC will next travel to Ewing, N.J., to square off with the College of New Jersey (TCNJ) on Sunday afternoon, January 28th, beginning at 12:00 p.m.

FINAL SCORE: Williams 30, Springfield 15

125: Ethan Cohen (WC) DEC Ryan Hannigan (SC) 9-8, 3-0
133: Mike Penza (WC) WBF Gary Henningsen (SC) 2:26, 9-0
141: Dylan Rittenburg (WC) WBF Corey Wert (SC) 2:34, 15-0
149: Nic Miragliuolo (WC) DEC John Archambeau (SC) 10-4, 18-0
157: Carl Breitenstein (WC) DEC Dave Brown (SC) 5-3, 21-0
165: Jake Tyler (SC) DEC Doug Washington (WC) 5-4, 21-3
174: Matt Stephen (WC) DEC Jareth Cardoso (SC) 7-4, 24-3
184: Elliot Smith (SC) WBF Mike Tcheyan (WC) 4:54, 24-9
197: Kyle Ayer (WC) WBF Alex Klinoff (SC) 2:51, 30-9
285: Chris Brown (SC) WBF Jim Bierman (WC) :59, 30-15

Recruit Me Wrestling Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Jason Holder

Head Coach Jason Holder Jason Holder will enter his third season as head wrestling coach in 2013. Holder had a standout first season at the helm of the Pride, leading Springfield to the NEWA Duals Championship and taking three wrestlers to the NCAA Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Jason Holder

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3276

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.