Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Men's Swimming and Diving Takes Third at NEWMAC Championships

Brian Sobel Complete Results

Cambridge, Mass. - February 27, 2011 - The Springfield College men's swimming and diving team finished in third place at 2011 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Swimming and Diving Championships on Sunday evening.

In the final night of competition, MIT swept all six swimming events helping it capture its third consecutive title. With their sixth conference team championship, the Engineers tied the U.S. Coast Guard Academy’s record for league titles. MIT touched the wall first 16 times out of 18 races en route to a total 1,153 points while Coast Guard finished as the runner-ups with a tally of 822. Springfield College rounded out the top three with a tally of 540.

Brooks Farrar was honored as the NEWMAC Diver of the Year after earning a pair of All-Conference accolades. Farrar ranked first on the 1-meter board and just missed a second title by 1.4 points on the 3-meter board.

In the 200 back, Josh Ernst took ninth in 1:55.95, closely followed by teammate Travis Morse, who placed 10th in 1:56.89.

Scott Mackstutis swam the 100 free in 47.08 to finish eighth, while Nolan Manley took 10th in the same event after swimming a 47.42.

In the 200 breast, Sean Pennington had a standout race as he took sixth in 2:13.86, and Brian Sniffin touched in 2:17.76 as he recorded a ninth-place finish.

In the 3-meter diving competition, Springfield once again dominated as it had five of the top eight finishers, including the top four. Brian Sobel edged out Farrar for the title as Sobel scored 570.5 points, while Farrar totaled 569.1 points to take second. Kenny Pancoast placed third with a 487.2, while Tyler Gunningsmith took fourth after totaling 417.10 points. Dalton Crantek rounded out the Pride's divers with a sixth-place score of 360.70.

The Pride closed out the evening with a fourth-place finish in the 400 medley relay as Mackstutis, Manley, Scott Peters, and Ernst raced to a time of 3:08.32.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.