Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Gymnastics

Air Force, Arizona State Win Team Titles at 2011 USAG Men's Gymnastics Nationals at Springfield College

Air Force - 2011 USAG Varsity Team Champion Collegiate Team Scores
Varsity Team Scores
Collegiate All-Around
Varsity All-Around
High Bar Results
Floor Exercise Results
Pommel Horse Results
Vault Results
Parallel Bars Results
Still Rings Results

Springfield, Mass. -- March 25, 2011 -- The U.S. Air Force Academy (see photo above) scored 345.700 points to win the 2011 USA Gymnastics Men's National Collegiate Championship, varsity division, tonight at Springfield College's Blake Arena. Meanwhile, Arizona State University, by scoring 329.800 points, won the collegiate (club) division team title. For videostreaming directions, please double-click onto the USAG icon on the main page (right side) of the athletics website.

The all-around competition was also determined tonight among individuals. Junior Ty Evans (San Jose, Calif.) from the host school, Springfield College, was the winner on the varsity side with a score of 85.700. He was first All-Around champion from Springfield College since Carl Frei in 1993. On the club side, it was Lee Wilkerson of Arizona State with a score of 82.700.

2011 USAG All-Around Finishers

The team scores were as follows, first from the varsity side. Air Force was the winner at 345.700, followed by William & Mary (344.600), Springfield (335.100), Army (334.500), and Navy (332.600).

On the club side, again it was Arozona State winning with 329.800, followed by Washington (305.300), and Brockport (294.600).

Partial club scores (full-complemented teams were not included) found MIT at 162.000, and Portland Community College at 36.800.

The following are the all-around scores from tonight's varsity level of competition. The include Ty Evans of Springfield (85.700), Coltun Wulf of Air Force (85.600), Andrew Faulk of Navy (84.900), Kip Webber of Army (83.400), Daniel Potemski of William & Mary (82.900), Chris Junghans of Navy (81.100), and Ikaika Jakub of Army (79.500).

The following are the all-around scores from the top 10 on the club level. They include Lee Wilkerson of Arizona State (82.700), Brett Lazarua of MIT (82.000), Charles Baysinger (80.500), Sam Softich of Washington (80.200), Jake Shapiro of MIT (80.000), Alex Gaudaur of Arizona State (79.600), Kenny Byrd of Brockport (77.400), Peter Mosur of Washington (75.500), Jeramie Hardi of Washington (75.400), and Brian Gildemyer of Brockport (75.000).

The following competitors, by finishing in the top eight of their event, will be eligible to compete in Saturday night's individual championships. Friday night's scores are thrown out. Each competitor starts off with a clean slate. The top eight in each event, plus alternates as indicated, include:
Floor exercise
Jimmy Pezzino (Springfield), Coltun Wulf (Air Force), Chase Brown (Army), Dylan Parrot (Navy), Vince Smurro (William & Mary), Andy Hunter (William & Mary), Riley Barclay (Arizona State), Tory Brown (Air Force), plus Lee Wilkerson (Arizona State) as an alternate.

High Bar
Andrew Faulk (Navy), Ty Evans (Springfield), Lee Wilkerson (Arizona State), Tory Brown (Air Force), Andy Hunter (William & Mary), Kip Webber (Army), Coltun Wulf (Air Force), Vince Smurro (William & Mary), plus Jon Hoey of Army as an alternate.

Parallel Bars
Nash Mills (Air Force), Landon Funicello (William & Mary), Andy Hunter (William & Mary), Dylan Parrot (Navy), Ty Evans (Springfield), Nick Fettinger (Army), Matt Thorne (Air Force), Alex Gaudaur (Arizona State), plus Andrew Faulk of Navy as an alternate.

Jimmy Pezzino (Springfield), Tory Brown (Air Force), Landon Funicello (William & Mary), Ty Evans (Springfield), Ben Zaiser (Air Force), Andrew Faulk (Navy), Kip Webber (Army), Josh Bradley (Arizona State), plus Daniel Potemski of William & Mary as an alternate

Pommel Horse
Garrek Hojan-Clark (Army), Daniel Potemski (William & Mary), Andy Hunter (William & Mary), Jon Hoey (Army), James Okamoto (Air Force), Joe Carlson (Springfield), Andrew Faulk (Navy), Brett Lazarus (MIT), plus Chris Junghans of Navy as an alternate.

Still Rings
Landon Funicello (William & Mary), Nash Mills (Air Force), Devin Menefee (Air Force), Jared Breeden (Army), Ryan Ponce (Springfield), Jake Shapiro (MIT), Cody Payne (Arizona State), plus Alex Gaudaur of Arizona State as an alternate.

The individual events begin Saturday night at 7 pm at Blake Arena.

Recruit Me

2014 Men's Gymnastics Virtual Team Guide

In the Gym With Tim

Team Links

Head Coach Steve Posner

Steve Posner Entering his 32nd season as head men's gymnastics coach, Dr. Steve Posner is recognized as one of the most outstanding gymnastics coaches in the East. Posner led the Pride to another successful season in 2013 as he led five gymnasts to the NCAA Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Steve Posner

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3357

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.