Springfield College Home > Athletics > Wrestling

Wrestling Topples WNE and STCC, Falls to AIC In City of Springfield Championship

Devin Hurst Springfield, Mass. - February 6, 2014 - The Springfield College wrestling team defeated Western New England and Springfield Technical CC before falling to American International in the City of Springfield Championship on Thursday afternoon.

The Pride handled Western New England, 49-0, in its first match of the day before edging STCC, 30-23. In its final match with American International, the Pride fell behind early and could not muster a comeback as it fell, 24-17.

Zach Joseph (Clifton Park, N.Y.) picked up a pair of wins at 149 on the evening, as did Devin Hurst (Warwick, R.I.) at 185 and Hunter Ayen (Gouverneur, N.Y.) at 197.

The Pride will host a quad meet this Saturday in the Springfield College Field House and will welcome Johnson & Wales, Plymouth State, and Trinity beginning at 11:00 am.

Springfield College Def. Western New England University, 49-0
125 double forfeit
133 Victor Ekpenyong (SPR) wins by forfeit
141 Mark Pinto (SPR) wins by forfeit
149 double injury forfeit
157 James Gendler (SPR) dec. Robert Cox (WNE), 12-6
165 Dylan Foley (SPR) forfeit over Tyler Richard (WNE)
174 Vincent Silano (SPR) wins by forfeit
185 Devin Hurst (SPR) maj. dec. over Brian Donovan (WNE), 13-2
197 Hunter Ayen (SPR) by fall over Carl Newman (WNE), 4:36
285 David Varian (SPR) by fall Ben Galica (WNE), 4:48

Springfield College def. Springfield Technical Community College, 30-23
125 Hector Reynoso (STC) wins by forfeit
133 Nicholas Arroyo (STC) pins Victor Ekpenyong (SPR) 5:55
141 Luis Quinones (STC) dec. Bryan Silva (SPR) 6-3
149 Zach Joseph (SPR) wins by forfeit
157 Luke Balina (SPR) pins Anthony Poehler (STC) 4:11
165 Dylan Foley (SPR) wins by forfeit
174 Vincent Silano (SPR) pinss Tyler Popec (STC) 6:13
184Brandon Riggins (STC) maj. dec. John DiPace (SPR)14-2
197 Hunter Ayen (SPR) pins Jesse Kordana (STC) 1:01
285 Donavan Lozada (STC) dec. Irakli Kakauridze (SPR) 3-2
American International College def. Springfield College, 24-17
125 Steve Pace (AIC) wins by forfeit
133 Blake Nikkinen (AIC) pins Victor Ekpenyong (SPR) 4:33
141 George Lischke (AIC) dec. Bryan Silva (SPR) 4-0
149 Zach Joseph (SPR) tech fall over Zachary Ziobro (AIC)15-0
157 Brandon Walsh (AIC) dec. Luke Balina (SPR) 5-3
165 Dylan Foley (SPR) dec. Nicholas Giulietti (AIC)2-1
174 Will Henson (SPR) dec. Michael Schulze (AIC) 5-0
184 Devin Hurst (SPR) pins Jonathon Ortiz (AIC) 2:44
197 Soslan Khamitcaev (AIC) dec. Hunter Ayen (SPR)6-5
285 Matt Pringle (AIC) dec. David Varian (SPR) 8-3

Recruit Me Wrestling Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Jason Holder

Head Coach Jason Holder Jason Holder will enter his third season as head wrestling coach in 2013. Holder had a standout first season at the helm of the Pride, leading Springfield to the NEWA Duals Championship and taking three wrestlers to the NCAA Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Jason Holder

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3276

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.