Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Women's Swimming and Diving Maintains Hold Of First Place After Second Day of NEWMAC's

Meredith Trumbull Complete Results

Wellesley, Mass. - February 20, 2010 - After two days of action at the 2010 New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships, nine-time defending champion Springfield College sits in first place with 568 total points. Highlighting the day was Meredith Trumbull's and Meg Cooney's individual wins and a new school record in the 800 free relay.

The Pride leads MIT by 121 points, as the Engineers have a two-day total of 447. Wheaton College sits in third with 389 points while Coast Guard held on to fourth place with 304. In fifth-place is Clark with 259, followed by Wellesley (212), WPI (154), Mount Holyoke (123), Babson (88), and Smith (77).

Springfield opened up the meet with a second-place finish in the 200 medley relay as Cooney, Janella Cuyler, Kaitlin Reilly, and Caroline Kosciusko touched in a time of 1:49.95.

The Pride showed its depth in the 400 I.M. as it took the top three spots. For the second-straight year, Trumbull took home the crown as she finished with a time of 4:40.56. She was followed by teammates Meghan Sisson (4:44.89) and Meghan Feran (4:46.05).

Despite her fourth-place finish in the 100 fly, Reilly met NCAA 'B' Cut standards after posting a time of 58.47. Teammate Aimee Doe also swam a 'B' cut time in the 200 free with her fourth-place time of 1:55.03.

Cooney was victorious in the 100 back for the second-straight year as she touched in a time of 59.26, also meeting 'B' cut standards.

Springfield closed out the meet on a high note by setting a new school record in the 800 free relay. Reilly, Kosciusko, Doe, and Sisson finished second with a time of 7:44.02, breaking the old school record of 7:46.79 set in 2004.

Day Two Standings
1. Springfield College 568
2. MIT 447
3. Wheaton College 389
4. U. S. Coast Guard Academy 304
5. Clark University 259
6. Wellesley College 212
7. WPI 154
8. Mount Holyoke College 123
9. Babson College 88
10. Smith College 77

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.