Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Volleyball

Smolinski Earns AVCA All-America Second Team Recognition

Smolinski Earns AVCA All-America Second Team Recognition Lexington, Ky. - November 14, 2012 - Junior Tessa Smolinski was named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-America second team after leading the Pride to the NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championship for the third-straight season.

Of the 42 players named to the three AVCA All-America teams, Smolinski was one of only two players from New England who was honored.

A 5-7 outside hitter from Hebron, Conn., Smolinski had another remarkable season, a year after she was as an AVCA Honorable Mention All-America selection. In 2012, Smolinski produced a team-best 467 kills, averaging 3.74 per set, while hitting .286. She wrapped up the year ranked second on the team in digs with 451, and added 37 aces and 32 blocks.

A New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) first team selection, Smolinski helped Springfield go 27-8 this season and advance to the regional semifinals. The two-time AVCA All-Region honoree was also chosen to to six different all-tournament teams, including the NCAA Division III Regional Championship All-Tournament team.

The awards will be presented this evening at the NCAA Division III Women's National Championship banquet in Holland, Mich..

Recruit Me

2013 Women's Volleyball Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Moira Long

Head Coach Moira Long Moira Long will enter her third season as head women's volleyball coach in the fall of 2013. Long has wasted little time putting her stamp on the program, taking the Pride to consecutive trips to the NCAA Championships, including the Elite Eight in 2011. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Moira Long

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3438

Follow us On Twitter

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.