Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Track And Field

Headley Takes Second in 55 Meter Dash at NCAA Championships

Steve Headley Greencastle, Ind. - March 13, 2010 - Senior Steve Headley finished second in the 55 meter dash on Saturday afternoon at the 2010 NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships.

The Wilbraham, Mass. native qualified for the finals on Friday afternoon when he ran a time of 6.30.

In the finals however, Salisbury's Delanie Spriggs set a new NCAA Championship record with a blazing time of 6.20 to win the national championship. Spriggs' time was the fastest in the country this season, set a new Hollensteiner Track record, and bested the NCAA meet record of 6.22 which was set by Stefan Mascoll of SUNY Cortland in 1999.

Headley tied his fastest time of the year with a 6.28 in the finals to finish in second place and earn All-American honors.

Headley entered the meet with the fastest time in the country to date with a 6.28 that he ran at the ECAC Championships on March 6.

This marks the first time that Headley has lost a 55 meter dash since March 15, 2008 when he placed fifth at the 2008 NCAA Division III Championships. Headley was unable to defend his title from a year ago, a title in which he edged Spriggs for the national championship.

Men's Track & Field Virtual Guide 2014

Team Links

Head Coach Ken Klatka

Ken Klatka Ken Klatka, an associate professor of physical education at Springfield College, will enter his 38th season as head coach, and 44th as a coach overall, of the men’s track and field program in 2013-2014. He ranks among the nation’s most successful coaches, with an overall record of 447 wins, 156 losses, and two ties for an impressive .743 winning percentage. In 2011, Klatka was inducted into the Springfield College Athletic Hall of Fame. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Ken Klatka

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3230

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.