Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Lacrosse

Women's Lacrosse Lands Program-Best Eight on NEWMAC All-Conference Team; Versprille Named Athlete of the Year

Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Boston, Mass. - April 30, 2014 - Springfield College's Anne Versprille (Franklin, Mass.) has been named the Women's Lacrosse Athlete of the Year by the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC), announced Tuesday.

The Springfield College women's lacrosse team garnered a conference-best eight student-athletes on the NEWMAC All-Conference team, including five first team honorees and three second team selections. Eight all-conference selections, including five first teamers is the most in the Pride's program history.

Led by Versprille, the NEWMAC Athlete of the Year, the women's lacrosse team finished with a conference record of 5-2, making it to the NEWMAC semifinals. The goal keeper posted an 8.15 goals against average this season, the best in the NEWMAC and 34th in the country. She tallied 113 saves on the year and a save percentage of 49.6%, the second-best among conference goal keepers and 36th nationally. The Physical Education major was in goal for all eight of the Pride's wins this season. The last time Springfield earned the conference's Athlete of the Year honor was in 2011, when Jackie Moscardelli received the award.

The Pride landed four other student-athletes on the all-conference first team, including Kelly Gallo (Westfield, Mass.), Connie Nielsen (Sayville, Mass.), Olivia Cabral (Sayville, Mass.) and Heather Raniolo (Yorktown Heights, N.Y.). For Nielsen, it was her second-straight first team selection, while Versprille garnered second team honors last season.

Gallo scored a team-best 44 goals this season, plus dished out 12 assists for 56 points. The senior shot .587 this season and scored a team-leading three game-winning goals. The Physical Education major ranks second on the team with 37 draw controls and 20 ground balls. Nielsen dished out a team-best 19 assists to go along with 31 goals for 50 points this season, ranking her second on the team in total points. The Physical Therapy major registered 20 ground balls and 14 draw controls. Cabral led Springfield's defense which held opponents to just eight goals per game while the offense averaged more than 11 goals per game. Cabral, an Elementary Education major, led the Pride with 22 caused turnovers this season and 29 ground balls. Raniolo was also a first team all-conference pick for the Pride. A midfielder, Raniolo scored 18 goals this season to go along with four assists for 22 points. The Physical Education major was credited with 28 ground balls and a team-best 43 draw controls.

Springfield also had three second team selections, including Emily Fowler (Branford, Conn.), Ellie Getchell (Franklin, Mass.) and Bridget Thibodeau (Andover, Mass.). Fowler, a senior, ranked second on the team in scoring with 30 goals this season to go along with five assists for a total of 35 points. The Applied Exercise Science major scored eight goals in a regular season, 21-15 victory over Mount Holyoke and tallied 12 ground balls and 15 draw controls on the season. Getchell and Thibodeau both held down the defense that held opponents to just eight goals per game. Getchell, an Occupational Therapy major, had 16 caused turnovers and 22 ground balls while Thibodeau posted 15 ground balls and 15 caused turnovers. This is Getchell's second-straight all-conference honor as she was a first team pick last season.

2014 Women's Lacrosse Virtual Team Guide
Recruit Me

Team Links

Head Coach Kristen Mullady

Kristen Mullady Kristen Mullady ‘00, enters her fifth season as the head women’s lacrosse coach at Springfield College. A former standout for Springfield’s women’s lacrosse team, Mullady led Springfield to back to back NEWMAC titles in 2012 and 2013. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Kristen Mullady

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3173

Follow us On Twitter

Find Us On Facebook

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.