Springfield College Home > Athletics >

Springfield College Recognizes Outstanding Athletic Year At 2012 Annual Sports Recognition Night

Jackie Moscardelli Springfield, Mass. - Jackie Moscardelli was named Springfield College Female Multi-Sport Athlete of the Year for the third consecutive time and also received the Senior Female Team Award to highlight the evening as Springfield College recognized the most outstanding performances and student athletes of the 2011-12 school year at the Annual Sports Recognition Night held Tuesday evening on campus in Blake Arena.

The emcee for the evening was Steve Roulier, Director of Marketing and Communications at the College.

The evening marked one of the most successful years in athletics at Springfield College in recent years. The men’s volleyball team won Springfield College's first NCAA Division III team title in any sport last weekend, while Kellie Pennington was crowned the NCAA Division III National Champion in the 50 freestyle. The women’s volleyball, women’s soccer, men's soccer, and women’s lacrosse teams all qualified for the NCAA Tournament, while the track and field, wrestling, swimming and diving, and gymnastics programs all sent individuals to the NCAA Championships.

The program concluded with Associate Athletic Director Kiki Jacobs awarding the women’s track and field team with the Pride Challenge Award, an award that recognizes the team that excels the most in community outreach, team enhancement, academics, PAAC communication, team goals, and supporting fellow student athletes.

As the final sendoff of the evening, all the head coaches led the gathering in the singing of the Alma Mater, A Song for Springfield.

2011-12 Springfield College Award Winners

Springfield College News Media Recognition Award – Justin Felisko – Springfield Student

Female Scholar Athlete Award – Kelly Curtis – Women’s Track and Field

Male Scholar Athlete Award – Alex McCabe – Men’s Gymnastics

Female “Unsung Award” Athlete of the Year – Kelsey Dunn – Softball

Male “Unsung Award” Athlete of the Year – Matt Dugan – Football

Courageous Female Athlete “Maureen Curry Rege” Award – Paige Rhodes – Women’s Diving

Courageous Male Athlete “Vic Ohanesian” Award – Sean Nunan – Men’s Track and Field

Freshman Female Individual Award – Lauren Pocius – Women’s Gymnastics

Freshman Male Individual Award – Jack Lewis – Men’s Diving

Freshman Female Team Award - Molly Giannattasio – Women’s Volleyball

Freshman Male Team Award– Angel Perez – Men’s Volleyball

Sophomore Female Individual Award – Kellie Pennington – Women’s Swimming

Sophomore Male Individual Award – Ryan Ponce – Men’s Gymnastics

Sophomore Female Team Award – Tessa Smolinski – Women’s Volleyball

Sophomore Male Team Award – Robert Maher – Men’s Lacrosse

Junior Female Individual Award – Crystal Davis – Women’s Track and Field

Junior Male Individual Award – Derek Longo – Wrestling

Junior Female Team Award – Kelly Blake – Softball

Junior Male Team Award – Greg Falcone – Men’s Volleyball

Senior Female Individual Team Award – Kelly Curtis - Women’s Track and Field

Senior Male Individual Team Award – Kevin Coyle – Men’s Track and Field

Senior Female Team Award – Jackie Moscardelli – Women’s Lacrosse and Women’s Soccer

Senior Male Team Award – Josh Carter – Football

Female Multi-Sport Athlete – Jackie Moscardelli – Women’s Lacrosse and Women’s Soccer

Male Multi-Sport Athlete – Ryan Coburn – Men’s Basketball and Men’s Volleyball

Pride Challenge Award – Women’s Track and Field Team

Game Central: Live Video and Stats

Find Us On Facebook

Follow us On Twitter


Springfield College Tailgating Policy
Field Policy
Please be advised that no pets shall be brought onto or permitted on any athletic field or playing surface and its immediate surroundings. Seeing eye and assist dog(s) may be permitted on athletic grounds with their owner(s).
Hampton Inn West Springfield
Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.