Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Volleyball

Nally, Palumbo, Shoemaker, and Falcone Named to AVCA All-America Teams

Nally, Palumbo, Shoemaker, and Falcone Named to AVCA All-America Teams Lexington, Conn. - April 12, 2010 - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced its 7th Annual AVCA Men's Division III All-America Teams on Monday afternoon and Springfield College had four student athletes earn the All-America honors. AJ Nally, Cal Palumbo, and Eric Shoemaker were named to the first team, while freshman Greg Falcone was honored to the second team.

UC Santa Cruz leads the way this season, with a total of five athletes honored on the two teams. Placing four athletes on the list was Springfield College, while Baruch College, Juniata College and Rivier College each had two players recognized.

Headlining this year’s team are juniors Justin Brubaker of Philadelphia Biblical University and Palumbo of Springfield, both of whom are making their third-consecutive appearance on the First-Team. UC Santa Cruz senior Brad Sullivan and Vassar College senior Phil Tully join Brubaker and Palumbo as the only other three-time recipients honored. In all, exactly half (10) of this year’s honorees are making their first appearance as an AVCA All-American.

Nally, a 6-4 outside hitter for Springfield College is a native of Rochester, N.Y. Competing in the challenging EIVA Tait Division, Nally has found himself ranked in the top-20 nationally in digs and kills, while also being honored as an EIVA Player of the Week in 2010. Nally, who has helped Springfield land a spot in the Molten Division III Men’s Volleyball Invitational Championship, earns his second AVCA All-America nod, as he was also a Second-Team choice in 2007.

Palumbo, a 6-4 middle blocker for Springfield College, is a junior who is also from Rochester, N.Y. Palumbo sits among the national leaders in hitting percentage and blocks per game, while participating in the Division I-heavy EIVA Tait Division. Palumbo is now a three-time AVCA All-American, also nabbing First-Team honors in 2008 and 2009.

Shoemaker, a 6-1 setter for Springfield College, is a senior from Mount Wolf, Pa. Shoemaker is among the nation’s leaders in assists per game and helped the Pride to one of the country’s top team hitting percentages. This marks the second time he’s been named an AVCA All-American, also garnering Second-Team plaudits in 2009.

Falcone, a 6-7 middle blocker for Springfield College, is a freshman from Lindenhurst, N.Y. Falcone made a statement in his rookie go-about, standing atop the charts as the Division III national leader in blocks per game. Falcone, who propelled the Pride to a spot in the Molten Division III Men’s Volleyball Invitational Championship, earns his first AVCA All-America honor.

The selections were made by the AVCA Men's Division III Volleyball All-America Committee: chairperson Charlie Sullivan (Springfield College); Tim Byram (Endicott College); Jonah Carson (University of California, Santa Cruz); Patrick Dorywalski (Stevens Institute of Technology); Allison Gunther (Baruch College); Keith Koch (Medaille College); and Craig Kolek (Rivier College).

The 2010 AVCA Division III Men's National Player of the Year will be announced April 15 at the Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship banquet in Kenosha, Wisc.

This season the 2010 AVCA Newcomer of the Year was Salvatore La Cavera III from UC Santa Cruz.

Recruit Me

2014 Men's Volleyball Virtual Team Guide

Russia Highlight Video

Follow us On Twitter

Team Links

Head Coach Charlie Sullivan

Charlie Sullivan With eight national championships to his credit, Charlie Sullivan will enter his 16th season as head coach of the men's volleyball team in 2014. In 15 previous years at the helm, Sullivan owns an overall record of 256-158 for a .618 winning percentage. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Charlie Sullivan

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3850

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.