Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Women's Swimming & Diving Tops Smith, 167-125

Complete Results

Springfield, Mass., Jan. 15, 2003 - Springfield College freshman Sarah Strout (Edgecomb, Maine) captured first place in the 100 yard freestyle (57.67) and the 200 yard freestyle (2:04.19) to lead the Pride to a 167-125 win against Smith College in a New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference meet Wednesday night at the Linkletter Natatorium.

SC senior Alison Melage (Union, N.Y.) placed first in the 1 meter dive with 275.65 points. Freshman Alicia Hart (W. Hartford, Conn.) finished first in the 100 yard butterfly in a time of 1:02.81. The Pride improve to 4-3 on the season.

Smith sophomore Sarah Rogers won both the 100 yard breaststroke (1:12.30) and the 200 yard breaststroke (2:40.10). The Pioneers fall to 2-3 this winter.

The Pride compete this Saturday at home against New York University.
Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.