Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Track And Field

Niemiec and Andrews Pace Men's Track and Field in Second Day of New England Division III's

Complete Results

Springfield, Mass. - May 2, 2014 - The Springfield College men's track and field team competed in the second day of the New England Division III Track and Field Championships on Friday afternoon.

Springfield currently sits in seventh with eight points. MIT leads the team standings with 50 points, Coast Guard and Bates are tied for second place with 20 points, while Bridgewater State (12) and Worcester State (11) round out the top five.

First-year Alex Niemiec (Chicopee, Mass.) finished third overall in the long jump with a leap of 23 feet. Teammate Brian Stacy (21-00.75) finished 10th in a field of 16 competitors.

P.J. Andrews (Lincoln, R.I) represented the Pride in the hammer throw, finished seventh overall with a toss of 158-04.

In the decathlon, William Ferguson (Lake Hopatcong, N.J) finished 10th with 4,718 points, while Michael Hiltz (Essex, Conn.) placed 11th after totaling a score of 4,464.

The New England Division III Track and Field Championships will conclude on Saturday with events set to begin at 10:00 a.m. and team awards set to be presented at approximately 5:15 p.m.

Men's Track & Field Virtual Guide 2014

Team Links

Head Coach Ken Klatka

Ken Klatka Ken Klatka, an associate professor of physical education at Springfield College, will enter his 38th season as head coach, and 44th as a coach overall, of the men’s track and field program in 2013-2014. He ranks among the nation’s most successful coaches, with an overall record of 447 wins, 156 losses, and two ties for an impressive .743 winning percentage. In 2011, Klatka was inducted into the Springfield College Athletic Hall of Fame. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Ken Klatka

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3230

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.