Springfield College Home > Athletics > Field Hockey

Field Hockey Defeats WNEC, 5-0, To Claim Zenaty Invitational Crown

Springfield 5, Western New England 0 - Boxscore
Eastern Conn. 4, Endicott 3 (E. Conn. Wins stroke off, 2-0) - Boxscore

View Day 1 Results

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., Sept. 5, 2004 – Springfield College senior back Kim Stevens (Knox, Maine) was named tournament MVP after leading the Pride a 5-0 win over Western New England College in the championship game of the Zenaty Invitational this afternoon on Benedum Field.

Freshman forward Brittany Veazie (Dexter, Maine) put the Pride on the board with a tally just five minutes into the game to give SC the 1-0 lead. Junior midfielder Alisha Miner (Sanbornton, N.H.) came off the bench to notch SC’s second goal of the afternoon with 2:19 remaining in the half for a 2-0 lead after the first stanza.

The Pride (2-0) picked up right where it left off in the first half, notching two goals in the first six minutes of play. Juniors Sarah Brooker (Auburn, Maine) and Amber Paradee (Sheldon, Vt.) found the back of the cage for their third and second goals of the tournament, respectively. Sophomore forward Christine Gibbons (Eden, N.Y.) finished out the scoring with 5:41 remaining in the game.

Senior goalkeeper Lindsey Pardue (Houston, Texas), and freshman Emma Kaplan (Ridgefield, Conn.) combined for the shutout.

SC wins the Zenaty Invitational for the eighth consecutive season, including the first under rookie head coach Melissa Rogers.

Consolation: Eastern Connecticut State 4, Endicott 3
(E. Conn. wins stroke off, 2-0)

Eastern Connecticut State came back from a two-goal deficit in the final eight minutes of regulation to tie Endicott College, and eventually defeat the Power Gulls in a stroke-off for a 4-3 victory in the consolation match of the Zenaty Invitational.

Junior forward Elena Lupone (Clinton, Conn.) scored twice and added an assist, while senior Mo Deegan (Westport, Conn.) had an assist and a crucial goal in the stroke off to propel the Warriors (1-1).

Endicott (0-2) built an early 3-1 lead thanks to goals by junior midfielder Ashley Wallace (Hudson, N.Y.), senior forward Jen McCormack (Milton, Mass.), and sophomore midfielder Lyndsay Woods (York, Maine). However, a late surge by the Warriors tied the contest, sending it into a scoreless overtime.

All-Tournament Team
Lydia Grant – Springfield
Erin Curry – Endicott
Mo Deegan – Eastern Connecticut
Stephanie Gildart – Western New England

MVP – Kim Stevens – Springfield
Recruit Me
2013 Field Hockey Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Melissa Sharpe

Melissa Sharpe After nine years as head coach of the Pride, Melissa Sharpe has continued the tradition of winning on the field hockey turf, posting an impressive 130-68 record, good for a winning percentage of .656 at the helm of her alma mater. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Melissa Sharpe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3167

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.