Springfield College Home > Athletics > Football

2012 Captains Named at Football Banquet; Carter Named Team MVP

2012 Football Captains Springfield, Mass. -- December 19, 2011 -- Captains for the 2012 football team were named by Head Coach Mike DeLong at last Friday night's Springfield College Football Awards Banquet at the Dodge Ballroom at the Richard B. Flynn Campus Union. In addition, many awards were presented, including Team MVP.

The Pride last month completed its third consecutive winning season, finishing with a 6-4 overall record, and a 4-3 mark in the Empire 8 conference. The 2011 season marks Springfield College's last in the Empire 8. Next season, SC will be one of eight teams to compete in the Liberty League, which also includes Hobart, the Merchant Marine Academy, Rochester, RPI, St. Lawrence, Union, and WPI.

Certainly one of the highlights of the night was the naming of the 2012 captains. They were running back Mike Davis (Madison, Conn.), offensive lineman Mike MacDonald (No. Dighton, Mass.), strong safety Matt Ramos (Milford, Conn.), and defensive end Rob Ruggiero (Action, Mass.). Davis, Ramos, and Ruggiero are all seniors-to-be. MacDonald is a junior-to-be. Ramos is a repeat captain.

(Caption above, left to right, includes: Davis, Ramos, Coach DeLong, Ruggiero, and MacDonald).

Several major awards were distributed during the evening's festivities. Senior record-setting quarterback Josh Carter (Marlborough, Mass.) was named the overall Team MVP. The team's Offensive MVP was also Carter. The team's Defensive MVP was senior free safety and quad-captain James Kikel (Glendale, N.Y.). The Most Valuable Special Teams Award went to senior tight end Brian White (Pleasantville, N.Y.).

The Norman Keith Scholar-Athlete Award was presented to senior offensive lineman Jake Hart (Burlington, Mass.) (3.807 GPA). The Ossie Solem/Ted Dunn/Nate Osur Brotherhood Award (for exmplifying the ideals of the humanics philosophy) went to senior offensive lineman Matt Dugan (Methuen, Mass.). The Jason Bednarz Most Improved Player Award, which last year was named for the late Bednarz for the first time, was given to senior defensive tackle Mike Hurst (Northboro, Mass.).

There were several other top awards. The Howard Resnick Coaches Award went to senior quad-captain and offensive lineman Sean Meagher (Cape Elizabeth, Me.). Meagher also won the King Roach Award (offensive lineman most top plays). The Most Courageous Player went to senior halfback and quad-captain Mark Safer (St. Johns, Fla.). The Scout Team Awards were given to freshman DB Dallas Blue (Greene, R.I.) (the Maroon Award), and to sophomore TE Billy Walsh (New York, N.Y.) (the White Award).

Recruit Me

2013 Football Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Find Us On Facebook

Head Coach Mike DeLong

Head Coach Mike DeLong Mike DeLong enters his 32nd season as a head football coach in the fall of 2013, including his 30th year as the head coach at his alma mater, Springfield College. To date, DeLong currently has the second-most career wins of any active Division III football coach. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Mike Delong

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3156

Springfield College Tailgating Policy
Athletic Equipment
Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.