Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Track And Field

Springfield College Hosts Second Day of 2010 ECAC Div. III Men's Track & Field Championships; Williams Edges Bates For Team Title

Steve Headley Complete Results

Springfield, Mass. -- May 14, 2010 -- The Williams College men defeated second-place Bates and 70 other schools to capture the ECAC Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championships today at Springfield College's Blake Track. Two-time defending champion Moravian and host Springfield tied for third in the team competition. Amherst and Ithaca finished fifth and sixth, also providing strong competition for Williams. Springfield's Steve Headley, a two-time individual winner, was named the meet's Most Outstanding Performer on the men's side.

There were a total of three ECAC records set on the men's side over the past two days. One record was set yesterday in the 3000-meter steeplechase by Brian Lang of the University of Rochester with a time of 9:05.24. That broke the old record of 9:09.27, set by Kyle O'Brien of Cortland State in 2009.

Today, there were two more ECAC records set. In the 1500 meters, Will Yochum of Amherst ran a time of 3:48.73. That broke the old mark of 3:51.10, set by Matt Winkler of Williams in 2004. Also, Headley set a new record in the 200 meter dash with a time of 21.16 seconds. That broke the old record of 21.54 previously held by Thomas Hunter of William Paterson in 2005.

Besides Headley, there were two others who were double winners. Headley won both the 100 and 200. Richard McNeil of Bates won the shot put and discus. And Demetrius Rooks of Ramapo won both the 400 and the 400 intermediate hurdles.

Event Men's Champion Time/Distance Women's Champion Time/Distance
Decathlon Benjamin Roy, WPI 6165 pts.    
Heptathlon     Hazel Briner, MIT 4378 pts.
Pole Vault Mike Dempsey, RIT 5.10m, 16-8 3/4 Anna Heim, Moravian 4.17m, 13-8 1/4
Javelin Thomas Masterson, Delaware Valley 59.84m Jill Shaner, Stockton 44.71m, 146-8
Hammer Bryan Kolacz, Keene State 57.25m, 187-10 Alyssa Pirinelli, St. Lawrence 54.88m
100 HH     Portia Jones, MIT 14.44
110 HH Jermaine Boyd, Ramapo 14.78
100 Steve Headley, Springfield 10.44 Nikki Hay, Springfield 12.12
3,000 Steeplechase Brian Lang, Rochester 9:05.24*, ECAC record Jacqueline Wentz, MIT 10:22.32
10,000 Colman Hatton, Bowdoin 31:35.44 Johanna Spangler, Vassar 36:21.89
4x100 Relay Springfield 41.47 Moravian 47.91
High Jump Valdir Mondesir, Ramapo 2.01m, 6-7 Shorna Brown, Cobleskill 1.68m, 5-6
Shot Put Richard McNeil, Bates 15.30m, 50-2 1/2 Alyssa Pirinelli, St. Lawrence 14.43m, 47-4 1/4
1,500 Will Yochum, Amherst 3:48.73*, ECAC record Randelle Boots, Wellesley 4:29.33
400 Demetrius Rooks, Stockton 48.01 Hillary Higgs, Williams 14.44
Long Jump Kevin Coyle, Springfield 6.99m, 22-11 1/4 Nikki Hay, Springfield 5.68m, 18-7 3/4
Discus Richard McNeil, Bates 50.74m, 166-6 Kelly Allen, Tufts 43.35m, 142-3
400 IH Demetrius Rooks, Ramapo 53.30 Portia Jones, MIT 1:01.34
800 Peter Najem, Keene State 1:51.56 Elizabeth Danhakl, Williams 2:12.79
200 Steve Headley, Springfield 21.16*, ECAC record Kadisha Wickham, York (NY) 24.67
Triple Jump Alex Samma, Conn. Coll. 14.75m, 48-4 3/4 Nikki Hay, Springfield 11.81m, 38-9
5,000 Michael Schmidt, Middlebury 14:54.22 Kerry Arouca, Westfield State 17:12.49
4x400 Relay Williams 3:15.01 Williams 3:50.55
Men's Track & Field Virtual Guide 2014

Team Links

Head Coach Ken Klatka

Ken Klatka Ken Klatka, an associate professor of physical education at Springfield College, will enter his 38th season as head coach, and 44th as a coach overall, of the men’s track and field program in 2013-2014. He ranks among the nation’s most successful coaches, with an overall record of 447 wins, 156 losses, and two ties for an impressive .743 winning percentage. In 2011, Klatka was inducted into the Springfield College Athletic Hall of Fame. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Ken Klatka

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3230

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.