Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Lacrosse

NCAA BOUND - Men's Lacrosse Set To Take On Stevens In NCAA Championship First Round

Springfield College Men's Lacrosse Springfield, Mass. - May 6, 2012 - The Springfield College men's lacrosse team will travel for a rematch with Stevens in the NCAA Division III Men's Lacrosse Championship First Round on Wednesday, May 9.

The Pride, which won its fifth-straight Pilgrim Lacrosse League Championship on Saturday, owns a 14-3 record and has won its last 10 straight games. The 10-game winning streak is the longest in program history since the 2005 rattled off 12-straight wins.

The winner of the Springfield/Stevens game will advance and travel to take on Cortland State on Saturday, May 12.

Stevens handed Springfield one of its three loses this year as the Ducks prevailed 11-5 on March 3 in Springfield's third game of the season. The Pride held a 4-3 lead with 11 minutes left in the second quarter before the Ducks reeled off seven-straight goals to take control of the contest.

Springfield and Stevens have played each other six times in recent years, with the Ducks winning four of the six contests. The Pride won in both 2008 and 2009.

Stevens earned the Empire 8's automatic qualifying bid after defeating Ithaca, 10-7, on Saturday. The Ducks own a 16-2 overall record, matching the most wins in school history and are riding a seven-game winning streak.

Recruit Me

2014 Springfield College Men's Lacrosse Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Keith Bugbee

Keith Bugbee Keith Bugbee enters his 31st season as head men's lacrosse coach at Springfield College in 2014. Under his direction, the Pride is one of the top programs in the country. Bugbee's coaching record stands at an impressive 327-157 (.676 winning percentage). Read more.

Contact Head Coach Keith Bugbee

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3154

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.