Springfield College Home > Athletics > Football

MacPherson To Be Inducted Into College Football Hall of Fame

Dick MacPherson New York, N.Y. - Former Springfield College great Dick MacPherson was one of 18 named as new inductees for the College Football Hall of Fame earlier this month. MacPherson, who was a captain on the 1957 team and later went on to coach at UMass and Syracuse, was one of two coaches (John Robinson) to be honored in addition to 16 players including Notre Dame's Tim Brown, West Virginia's Major Harris, Texas' Steve McMichael, Ohio State's Chris Speilman, Miami's Gino Torretta, Penn State's Curt Warner and Nebraska's Grant Wistrom.

While at Springfield, MacPherson captained the 1957 team that went 6-2 under Ossie Solem. MacPherson then went on to graduate in the spring of 1958.

The 2009 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Class will be inducted at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 8, 2009, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, Ind., during ceremonies in the summer of 2010.

Below is a bio on Coach MacPherson
Dick MacPherson served as the head coach of the UMass football program for seven seasons, from 1971-1977, leading the team to four Yankee Conference championships (1971, 1972, 1974 and 1977). During his seven seasons, MacPherson recorded a 45-27-1 record and led UMass to its only postseason bowl victory, as his 1972 squad defeated the University of California at Davis 35-14 in the 1972 Boardwalk Bowl.

MacPherson's 45 victories rank third all-time in UMass history. His squads also posted a 28-8-1 mark in Yankee Conference games, and his .778 winning percentage ranks fifth-best in league history. The first coach in UMass history to win eight or more games in three different seasons, his nine-win campaign in 1972 tied the school record for single-season victories first set in 1901. In 1977, MacPherson's Minutemen were the first team in school history to play in the NCAA playoffs, losing to Lehigh, 30-23, in the NCAA Division II playoffs. He produced 55 first team all-conference selections, as well as seven first team All-Americans in his tenure, with seven of his players going on to play professionally.

After his success with the Minutemen, Syracuse gave him their head job in 1981. MacPherson ranks third all-time at Syracuse for wins (66) and most seasons coached (10). During his tenure as head coach he led the Orange to five bowl games while posting a 3-1-1 record in post-season play. In 1987, the Orange posted an 11-0-1 record, playing Auburn to a 16-16 tie in the Sugar Bowl and finishing fourth in the national polls.

Named NCAA National Coach of the Year in 1987, Coach Dick MacPherson led the Orange to an 11-0-1 record and the fourth spot in the final Associated Press ranking.

He coached two College Football Hall of Fame players, Tim Greene and Don McPherson, eight All-Americans, two NFF National Scholar-Athletes during his 10 years at Syracuse. MacPherson currently works as a color commentator for Syracuse Football radio broadcasts, splitting his time between Palm Bay, Fla., Princeton, Maine and Jamesville, N.Y.

Recruit Me

2013 Football Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Find Us On Facebook

Head Coach Mike DeLong

Head Coach Mike DeLong Mike DeLong enters his 32nd season as a head football coach in the fall of 2013, including his 30th year as the head coach at his alma mater, Springfield College. To date, DeLong currently has the second-most career wins of any active Division III football coach. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Mike Delong

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3156

Springfield College Tailgating Policy
Athletic Equipment
Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.