Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving Defeats MIT

Complete Results

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., – January 15, 2005 – Senior All-American Mike Shaw (Westfield, Mass.) smashed his own school and pool record in the three-meter dive in helping the Springfield College men’s swimming & diving team to a dramatic 157-143 victory over MIT earlier today at Springfield’s Art Linkletter Natatorium.

On the women’s side, Springfield defeated MIT, 168.50 to 131.50, as SC freshman Erin White (Glastonbury, Conn.) won the three-meter diving event, and qualified for nationals in the one-meter diving event.

With the victories, the SC men are now 6-3 on the season, the SC women 6-5.

After tying his own school record in the three-meter dive yesterday at NYU with a score of 327.37, Shaw did even better in his familiar surroundings today by scoring 344.10 points. Those are national bests to date.

Despite Shaw’s exploits, the men’s meet came down to the last event. Had MIT won the 200 freestyle relay, the meet would have ended in a 150-150 tie. But SC won that last relay by four one-hundredths of a second, 1:28.54 to 1:28.58. The winning quartet for SC included junior Ryan Mahoney (Westford, Mass.), freshman Greg Pearsall (Litchfield, Conn.), junior Paul McCloskey (Brookfield, Conn.), and freshman Will Banulski (Bristol, Conn.).

Other men’s winners for the Pride included senior All-American Dan Moran (Wilbraham, Mass.) in the 1000 free (10:08.30), the 200 fly (1:58.76), and the 200 yard IM (2:00.42), McCloskey in the 200 free (1:47.15) and 500 free (4:56.16), sophomore All-American Roy Burch (Warwick, Bermuda) in the 50 free (22.26), Shaw in the one-meter dive (285.98 points), and sophomore Justin Zook (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) in the 200 back (2:05.20).

On the women’s side, White won the three-meter diving event, defeating the defending national champion, MIT sophomore Doria Holbrook, in the process. White’s score was 237.90, while Holbrook’s was a shade behind at 237.00. Holbrook did win the one-meter dive, edging White 255.30 to 247.05.

Other SC winners included sophomore Emily Sheahan (Erin, N.Y.) in the 1000 free (10:52.82), senior Emily Phillips (North Windham, Conn.) in the 100 back (1:02.60) and 100 free (55.35), freshman Moira Price (Berkeley Heights, N.J.) in the 100 breast (1:10.44), 50 free (25.61) and 200 breast (2:35.76), freshman Kristen Schadow (Ballston Spa, N.Y.) in the 200 fly (2:14.46) and 200 IM (2:19.09), and junior Meaghan O’Hara (Bedford, N.H.) in the 200 back (2:15.69).

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.