Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Men's Swimmming & Diving Opens 2004-2005 Season Versus Holy Cross

Click here for the women's preview

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., October 26, 2004 - The Springfield College men's swimming and diving team opens the 2004-2005 campaign Wednesday (Oct. 27) hosting Division I Holy Cross at 6:00 p.m. in Linkletter Natatorium.

Sixteenth-year head coach John Taffe is confident that his 2004-‘05 Pride could be one of his strongest teams in recent memory. With several talented veterans joining forces with a host of promising new faces, SC has its sites set on it first New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Title and a top-10 strong showing at the NCAA Division III Championships.

“This could be the best group we’ve had ever,” said Taffe. “Our quality and depth should make us very strong from a conference and national perspective.”

Defending three-meter diving national champion and four-time All-American Mike Shaw (Westfield, Mass.) returns for his junior season. The 2003 and ‘04 NEWMAC diver of the year, who has three top-3 at the national championships, has a chance to sweep both diving events at the NCAA championships in March.

Senior Louis Arruda (West Warwick, R.I.) returns for his senior campaign after swimming in three events at the ’04 NCAA Championships and garnering All-America honors with a seventh-place finish in the 200 freestyle. The 2002 NEWMAC swimmer of the year, he won the 500 and 200 freestyles, and the 200 butterfly, while swimming legs on the victorious 200, 400 and 800 free relays at the ‘04 NEWMAC championships.

Junior Dan Moran (Wilbraham, Mass.) swam three events at the NCAA Championships last season, taking home honorable-mention All-America recognition in the 200 butterfly. At last season’s conference championships, he was victorious in the 1,650 freestyle and swam a leg on the winning 800 free relay.

Seniors Jeff Doornweerd (Meriden, Conn.) (free, fly, breast), Blake Leshnick (Suffern, N.Y.) (free, fly) and Tim Ryan (Hatboro, Pa.) (IM, backstroke) along with junior Ross Craig (Brookfield, Conn.) (distance, butterfly) all return to provide Taffe with outstanding depth and experience.

Roy Burch (Warwick, Bermuda), Scott Teti (Torrington, Conn.) and Ben Casavant (Acton, Mass.) lead a talented group of newcomers that will make an immediate impact on the team.
Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.