Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Men's Swimming and Diving Finishes Second at NEWMAC Championships

2006 NEWMAC All-Conference Team

Sunday's Complete Results

Complete Championship Results

NORTON, Mass., February 26, 2006 - Springfield College senior All-American Mike Shaw (Westfield, Mass.) won both the one- and three-meter diving competitions, compiling scores of 508.70 and 521.55, respectively, as the Pride finished second out of seven New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) teams at this weekend's (Feb. 24-26) NEWMAC Championships hosted by Wheaton College.

Shaw concluded his illustrious four-year NEWMAC Championship career by sweeping both boards, as the senior has captured all eight platform titles in his four years at SC. His two scores of 508.70 and 521.55 in the one- and three-meter events both met NCAA Division III National Championship automatic qualifying standards.

The Pride totaled 798 total team points in the three-day event to capture second. The Coast Guard Academy ran away with the team title, recording a total of 908 team points. MIT rounded out the top three with 784.5 total team points throughout the championship weekend.

Senior All-American Dan Moran (Wilbraham, Mass.) was the other first-place finisher for SC besides Shaw, as he won the 200 butterfly event with an NCAA Division III National Championship provisional qualifying time of 1:53.63. Moran also earned All-Conference honors in the 500 freestyle, finished second with another provisional qualifying pace of 4:39.72.

Other members of the Pride which came away with All-Conference nods after the weekend included sophomore All-American Roy Burch (Warwick, Bermuda), with second-place finishes in the 50 free (20.81), 100 free (45.94), and 100 back (52.78), sophomore Ben Casavant (Acton, Mass.) in the one- (426.10) and three-meter (467.00) dive, junior Paul McCloskey (Brookfield, Conn.) in the 200 freestyle (1:43.22), junior Ryan Mahoney (Westford, Mass.) in the 100 breast (59.43), and sophomore Justin Zook (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) in the 200 back (1:58.74).

SC will next be at the NCAA Division III Championships from Tuesday, March 14, to Sunday, March 19, at the University of Minnesota.

Final Team Standings:
1. Coast Guard Academy 908 points
2. Springfield College 798 points
3. MIT 784.5 points
4. Wheaton College 439.5 points
5. WPI 390 points
6. Clark University 259 points
7. Babson College 234 points

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.