Springfield College Home > Athletics >

Springfield College Recognizes Outstanding Athletic Year At 2013 Annual Sports Recognition Night

2013 Sports Recognition Night

Photo Gallery Of Award Winners

Springfield, Mass. - May 7, 2013 - Celebrating one of the finest years in recent history, Springfield College recognized the most outstanding performances and student athletes of the 2012-13 school year at the Annual Sports Recognition Night held Tuesday evening in Blake Arena.

The emcee for the evening was Steve Roulier, Director of Marketing and Communications at the College.

The evening marked one of the most successful years in athletics at Springfield College in recent memory. In April, the men’s volleyball team won its second consecutive NCAA Division III national title, while junior wrestler Devin Biscaha became the program’s first NCAA Division III National Champion. Another first in program history came this fall when the men’s golf team qualified for the NCAA's in Florida. The women’s volleyball, women’s soccer, men's soccer, men’s basketball, women’s lacrosse, men’s lacrosse, and softball teams all qualified for the NCAA Tournament as well, while the track and field, wrestling, swimming and diving, and gymnastics programs all sent individuals to the NCAA Championships.

To conclude the program, Associate Athletic Director Kiki Jacobs awarded the women’s volleyball team with the Pride Challenge Award, which recognizes the team that excels the most in community outreach, team enhancement, academics, PAAC communication, team goals, and supporting fellow student athletes.

2012-13 Springfield College Award Winners

Springfield College News Media Recognition Award – Dick Baker – Springfield Republican Writer
Courageous Female Athlete “Maureen Curry Rege” Award – Amy Entel and Molly Giannattasio – Women’s Volleyball
Courageous Male Athlete “Vic Ohanesian” Award – Keaton Pieper – Men’s Volleyball
Female “Unsung Award” Athlete of the Year – Meghan Flanagan – Women’s Lacrosse
Male “Unsung Award” Athlete of the Year – Mike Becker – Men’s Volleyball
Freshman Female Individual Award – Callie Phillips – Women’s Swimming
Freshman Male Individual Award – Michael Normoyle – Men’s Swimming
Freshman Female Team Award – Jenna Webb – Softball
Freshman Male Team Award– Jonathan Marrero – Football
Sophomore Female Individual Award – Amanda Martin – Women’s Track & Field
Sophomore Male Individual Award – Derek Adams – Wrestling
Sophomore Female Team Award – Kelly Haines – Women’s Soccer
Sophomore Male Team Award – Max Nacewicz – Football
Junior Female Individual Award – Kellie Pennington – Women’s Swimming
Junior Male Individual Award – Devin Biscaha – Wrestling
Junior Female Team Award – Vickie DiNatale – Women’s Soccer
Junior Male Team Award – Ryon Lynch – Men’s Lacrosse
Senior Female Individual Team Award – Brittany Baglow - Women’s Gymnastics
Senior Male Individual Team Award – Joseph Grippi – Wrestling
Senior Female Team Award – Erin Greenstein – Women’s Soccer
Senior Male Team Award – Greg Falcone – Men’s Volleyball
Female Multi-Sport Athlete – Kelly Gallo – Field Hockey and Women’s Lacrosse
Male Multi-Sport Athlete – Nolan Manley – Men’s Swimming and Men’s Track & Field
Female Scholar Athlete Award – Rhian Duggan – Women’s Track & Field
Male Scholar Athlete Award – Tim Vollaro – Men’s Golf
Pride Challenge Award – Women’s Volleyball

Game Central: Live Video and Stats

Find Us On Facebook

Follow us On Twitter


Springfield College Tailgating Policy
Field Policy
Please be advised that no pets shall be brought onto or permitted on any athletic field or playing surface and its immediate surroundings. Seeing eye and assist dog(s) may be permitted on athletic grounds with their owner(s).
Hampton Inn West Springfield
Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.