Springfield College Home > Athletics > Wrestling

Wrestling Opens up 2007-08 Campaign as Hosts of 18th Annual Doug Parker Invitational

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - November 16, 2007 - On Saturday, November 17th, the Springfield College wrestling team will open up its season as hosts of the 18th annual Doug Parker Invitational. The meet, which consists of 18 of the top teams from around the region will be held in Blake Arena and is scheduled to begin at 10:00 am.

American International, Bridgewater State, Coast Guard, Centenary, Gettysburg, Kings Point, MIT, Norwich, Rhode Island College, Roger Williams, Springfield, Stevens Tech, Trinity, Washington & Jefferson, Wesleyan, Western New England, and Williams will all compete in the event.

The Pride won the meet last season with a final team score of 185.50, outdistancing the second-place Roger Williams Hawks, who recorded a score of 126.50. Last season, the Pride picked up wins by Jamie Sgaglione (133), Mike Gaeta (141), Mark DeCiccio (157), Jake Tyler (165), and Elliot Smith (184).

Springfield enters the 2007-08 campaign as the ninth-ranked team in the New England Wrestling Association All-New England Poll and the sixth-ranked team in the New England Division III Poll.

Returning for the Pride after a trip to the NCAA Championships last season is Elliot Smith. Smith was seeded fifth in the championships last season. The Pride will hit the mats without a familiar face as four-time All-American Mike Gaeta graduated last spring.

Recruit Me Wrestling Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Jason Holder

Head Coach Jason Holder Jason Holder will enter his third season as head wrestling coach in 2013. Holder had a standout first season at the helm of the Pride, leading Springfield to the NEWA Duals Championship and taking three wrestlers to the NCAA Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Jason Holder

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3276

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.