Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Women's Swimming and Diving In First After Opening Day of NEWMAC Championships

Caroline Kosciusko Day One Results

Wellesley, Mass. - February 19, 2010 - The Springfield College women's swimming and diving team started off the 2010 New England Women's and Men's Conference Swimming and Diving Championships on a strong note on Friday evening behind dominating performances on the one-meter board and in the 500 free.

After the first day of events, Springfield is in first place with 293 points, followed by rival MIT, who has 213 points. Springfield has won nine-consecutive NEWMAC Championships in women's swimming and diving.

The Pride started off the evening with a win in the 200 free relay as the team of Kaitlin Reilly, Aimee Doe, Jaclyn VanWaalwijk, and Caroline Kosciusko touched in an NCAA 'B' cut qualifying time of 1:37.96.

In the 500 free, Springfield had four of the top six finishers, led by Doe who finished in second in 5:08.79. Teammate Meghan Sisson took third in 5:09.94, while Meghan Feran placed fourth with a time of 5:12.46. Laura Hartford wrapped up the Pride's dominance in the event as she placed sixth in 5:13.40.

Springfield's top finisher in the 200 I.M. was Meg Cooney, who took third in an NCAA 'B' cut time of 2:10.35. Meredith Trumbull placed fifth in the event after finishing in a time of 2:13.61.

Reilly, the reigning NEWMAC Rookie of the Year, then finished second in the 50 free in 24.56, while Kosciusko took fifth with her time of 24.73.

On the one-meter board, Springfield simply dominated as it took four of the top five spots. Michelle Reggio finished second with a mark of 452.15, followed by classmate Meghan Kijanka, who totaled a 434.25. Courtney Keefe placed fourth with a 408.25, while Paige Rhodes recorded a fifth-place finish in her first conference championship meet after scoring a 391.10.

The Pride closed out the meet after finishing fourth in the 400 medley relay as Cooney, Janella Cuyler, Trumbull, and Doe touched in 4:01.45.

Day 1 Standings
1. Springfield College 293
2. MIT 213
3. Wheaton College 153
4. U. S. Coast Guard Academy 137
5. Clark University 130
6. Wellesley College 90
7. Mount Holyoke College 72
8. WPI 59
9. Babson College 43
10. Smith College 36

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.