Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Six SC Women's Swimmers & Divers Named Academic All-NEWMAC

BABSON PARK, Mass.-- March 26, 2007 -- The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has announced the 2006-2007 NEWMAC Women’s Swimming & Diving Academic All-Conference Team.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2006 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

Springfield's honorees included sophomore Elizabeth Belmont (Haverhill, Mass.), junior diver Melissa Nelson (Wallingford, Conn.), junior Kelley Ockerbloom (South Yarmouth, Mass.), junior Kristen Schadow (Ballston Spa, N.Y.), senior diver Natasha Skowronski (Adams, Mass.), and sophomore Caitlin Studer-Sweetman (Layton, N.J.).

The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

The 2006-2007 NEWMAC Women’s Swimming & Diving Academic All-Conference Team
Shirley Wong 2009 Babson
Jessica Baker 2009 Clark
Kara Bochicchio 2008 Clark
Korin Danchise-Curtis 2009 Clark
Mackenzie Kamm 2007 Clark
Sara Stephenson 2006 (Gr.) Clark
Lina Anderson 2008 Coast Guard
Emily Kehrt 2009 Coast Guard
Tara Schendorf 2008 Coast Guard
Shea Winterberger 2009 Coast Guard
Abigail Clark 2008 MIT
Katrina Cornell 2006 (Gr.) MIT
Erika Erickson 2008 MIT
Doria Holbrook 2008 MIT
Caroline Lowenthal 2009 MIT
Jacquelyn Nowicke 2008 MIT
Kaidi Wang 2009 MIT
Grace Bauer 2008 Mount Holyoke
Alexandra de Rivera 2008 Mount Holyoke
Laura Ferrante 2007 Mount Holyoke
Leigh Foster 2008 Mount Holyoke
Addison Kemp 2009 Mount Holyoke
Elizabeth Nash 2009 Mount Holyoke
Bethany Peterson 2008 Mount Holyoke
Caitlin Scott 2007 Mount Holyoke
Carol Stafford 2008 Mount Holyoke
Julie Bacon 2008 Smith
Rebecca Danton 2007 Smith
Cheri Hardy 2009 Smith
Elizabeth Belmont 2009 Springfield
Melissa Nelson 2008 Springfield
Kelley Ockerbloom 2008 Springfield
Kristen Schadow 2008 Springfield
Natasha Skowronski 2007 Springfield
Caitlin Studer-Sweetman 2009 Springfield

Becky Hanna 2008 Wellesley
Savanna Johnson 2009 Wellesley
Katie Scorza 2007 Wellesley
Jenny Wu 2009 Wellesley
Kristen Behrens 2007 Wheaton
Cassie Bohn 2007 Wheaton
Caitlin Glover 2009 Wheaton
Abby Pratt 2008 Wheaton
Allison Elder 2008 WPI
Katie Kelly 2007 WPI
Jodi Lowell 2008 WPI
Danielle Sorenson 2007 WPI

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.