Springfield College Home > Athletics > Field Hockey

2008 Field Hockey Preview

Jill Urtz For most programs, making it to the NCAA Tournament is the ultimate achievement. For the Springfield College field hockey team, it has become a habit.

After advancing to the NCAA Tournament for the fourth-straight year last season, the Pride has its eyes set on making the national tournament once again.

"With a strong core of veteran players returning, we are looking forward to another successful season," said head coach Melissa Rogers. "Freshman Alexa Carlson is expected to contribute to a strong offensive unit while the experienced defensive squad will be anchored by freshmen goalies Kelleanne Salazar and Allison McCarthy. Captains Jane Kelleher and Jill Urtz will lead the team in our quest for another NEWMAC title."

This year’s squad will be led by the reigning NEWMAC Player of the Year, Kelleher, who tallied 23 goals and nine assists last season en route to being named an All-American.

Anchoring the defensive half of the field in her senior year will be Urtz, a NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team and an all-region second team pick last season. Joining Urtz will be classmate Katherine McCarthy, who started all 25 games last season, and was a main reason why the Pride had the eighth best save percentage in the country a year ago.

Joining Kelleher on the Pride attack will be junior Becca Gamble, who looks to build upon a solid sophomore campaign.

Recruit Me
2013 Field Hockey Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Melissa Sharpe

Melissa Sharpe After nine years as head coach of the Pride, Melissa Sharpe has continued the tradition of winning on the field hockey turf, posting an impressive 130-68 record, good for a winning percentage of .656 at the helm of her alma mater. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Melissa Sharpe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3167

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.