Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Kijanka Named NEWMAC Women's Diver of the Week

Meghan Kijanka Springfield, Mass. - November 9, 2009 - Meghan Kijanka was selected as the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Diver of the Week after an impressive performance on Saturday against Smith.

The senior from Methuen, Mass. was one of the Pride's top performers over the weekend as Springfield defeated Smith, 172-118.

In the dual meet, the two-time honorable mention All-American from a year ago, took first in the one-meter diving event with a 249.89, and then recorded the second-highest score on the three-meter with a mark of 227.92.

In the one-meter diving event, Kijanka qualified for the NCAA Division III nationals.

Kijanka and the Pride return to action on Saturday afternoon when they travel to take on Division-I foe, University of Rhode Island.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.