Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Track and Field

Six Members of Women's Track and Field Squad Named to NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team

Springfield Mass. – May 1st 2008 – The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference announced the Academic All-Conference Teams for Spring sports this week and 24 Springfield student-athletes found themselves on the list.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2007 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at his/her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

The Pride’s women’s softball team saw seven players receive honors headed by juniors Shanda Kogut (Preston, Conn.), Angela Atkins (East Haddem, Conn.), Aimee Cassella (Southington, Conn.), and Laura Riccio (Bristol, Conn.). Three sophomores who made the academic all-conference team include Caitlin Corry (Seekonk, Mass.), Jaimie Moran (Manchester, Conn.), and Bryn Worrilow (North Babylon, N.Y.).

Women’s Track and Field also had a strong showing on the academic all-conference team as six members of the team were recognized. Senior Kristyn Meade (Raynham, Mass.), and junior Kelsey Bishop (Warwick, R.I.) headed the class. Sophomores who gained recognition were Amanda DiPaolo (Garrison, N.Y.), Nicole Palmison (Plymouth, N.H.), Desiree Perry (Cumberland, R.I.), and Nicole Reynolds (Riverside, R.I).

Senior Justin Nussey (Westminster, Mass.) of the baseball team was recognized for his excellence in the classroom along with junior teammates Jimmy Lisowski (Warwick, Mass.), Ryan Tatreau (Greenfield, Mass.), and Jon Wurster (New Windsor, N.Y.).

Men’s Track and Field rounded out the honors with seven more student-athletes making the list. Seniors Jeff Bartlett (West Newbury, Mass.), Chris Okerblom (Salisbury, Md.), Tim Rehm (Waldwick, N.J), and Dominick Ugucciono (Colrain, Mass.) were all rewarded for their academic excellence. Also making the cut were juniors Michael Griffin (Scarborough, Maine) and Justin Ludwig (Ho-Ho-Kus, N.J.), and sophomore Matt Geanacopoulos (Ludlow, Mass.).
Recruit Me

2014 Women's Track and Field Recruiting Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Jim Pennington

Jim Pennington Jim Pennington enters his 30th season as head coach of the Springfield College women’s cross country and track and field teams in 2013-2014. Under Pennington’s direction, the Pride has recorded seven top 20 finishes at the NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Track & Field Championships, and seven top 15 finishes at the NCAA Cross Country Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Pennington

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3351

Find Us On Facebook

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.