Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Track And Field

Men's Track and Field Opens Season at Ramapo Invitational

Anthony Salvucci Complete Results

Mahwah, N.J. - March 30, 2013 - The Springfield College men’s track and field team competed in a non-scoring meet to begin its spring portion of the season at the Ramapo Invitational.

Springfield College’s John Dayton and Anthony Salvucci led the Pride with individual event wins. Dayton placed first in the hammer throw with a heave of 54.80 meters, while Salvucci took the 3000 meter run with a time of 8:43.22.

The Pride had a strong performance from many other field event participants. In the shot put, Springfield had two finishers in the top five, with Brandon Hammerstrom placing second at 13.88 meters and Brandon Alves taking fifth at 11.14 meters. Peter Andrews would finish third in the hammer throw at 49.35 meters.

Other Pride members who ran well were Sean NunanJoe Geurds. In the 400 meter hurdles, Nunan placed third for Springfield, clocking in at 58.75 seconds, while in the 3000 meter steeplechase, Geurds took fifrth at 10:19.42. Springfield’s 4x100 meter relay team of Rocco DiStefanoAdam Swartout, Andrew Bean, and Ken Toal teamed up for a time of 44.56 and third place.

The Pride will host Middlebury and Bowdoin next Saturday.

Men's Track & Field Virtual Guide 2014

Team Links

Head Coach Ken Klatka

Ken Klatka Ken Klatka, an associate professor of physical education at Springfield College, will enter his 38th season as head coach, and 44th as a coach overall, of the men’s track and field program in 2013-2014. He ranks among the nation’s most successful coaches, with an overall record of 447 wins, 156 losses, and two ties for an impressive .743 winning percentage. In 2011, Klatka was inducted into the Springfield College Athletic Hall of Fame. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Ken Klatka

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3230

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.