Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Sobel Tabbed NEWMAC Men's Diver of the Week

Brian Sobel Springfield, Mass. - January 25, 2010 - For the third-consecutive week, Brian Sobel was honored as the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Diver of the Week after another dominant performance against Williams on Saturday afternoon.

The Stratford, Conn. native swept the diving competition on Saturday as the Pride fell to regional-power Williams College. In the one-meter, Sobel took first with 329.25 points, while in the three-meter, Sobel had the top score with a 337.06.

Since returning from injury at the beginning of January, Sobel has picked up right where he left off last season as he was the NEWMAC Men's Diver of the Year. Since his return, Sobel has been honored by the conference the last three weeks for his efforts in the diving well.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.