Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Lacrosse

Oswego Holds Off Women's Lacrosse, 5-4

Springfield College Women's Lacrosse Box Score

Orlando, Fla. - March 16, 2014 - Emily Fowler (Branford, Conn.) found the back of the cage three times, but the Springfield College women's lacrosse team could not complete its second-half charge as it fell to Oswego, 5-4, on Sunday morning.

The loss evens Springfield's record to 3-3 this season.

Kelly Gallo (Westfield, Mass.) scored Springfield's only other goal in the contest. Anne Versprille (Franklin, Mass.) made eight saves between the pipes for the Pride and Connie Nielsen (Sayville, N.Y.) scooped up eight ground balls.

Springfield was just 2-for-10 on free position shots and finished the contest with 20 turnovers.

After Fowler scored a free-posiition goal to tie things at 1-1 at the 21:56 mark of the first half, Oswego scored the game's next four goals to own a 5-1 advantage with 20:24 left in regulation.

Gallo scored the Pride's first goal in over 38 minutes of action on a free-position strike with 13:28 to play, which Fowler followed up with a goal off a Nielsen feed just 1:31 later.

Fowler pumped home the game's final goal at the 3:41 mark, but Springfield was unable to cap off its comeback bid as it dropped the one-goal decision.

The Pride will play again on Tuesday when it goes up against nationally-ranked Geneseo at 11:00 am.

2014 Women's Lacrosse Virtual Team Guide
Recruit Me

Team Links

Head Coach Kristen Mullady

Kristen Mullady Kristen Mullady ‘00, enters her fifth season as the head women’s lacrosse coach at Springfield College. A former standout for Springfield’s women’s lacrosse team, Mullady led Springfield to back to back NEWMAC titles in 2012 and 2013. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Kristen Mullady

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3173

Follow us On Twitter

Find Us On Facebook

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.