Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Men's Swimming & Diving Loses Double-Dual at MIT

Brian Sobel Complete Results

Cambridge, Mass. -- January 16, 2011 -- The Springfield College men's swimming and diving team competed in a double-dual meet at MIT this afternoon, losing both duals to MIT, 225 to 72, and to Coast Guard, 224 to 76. The Pride were led by Brian Sobel who won both the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events.

Springfield did well in diving. In the 1-meter, Sobel won it with a score of 360.35 points. He finished just ahead of teammate Brooks Farrar, who was second with 333.90 points.

In the 3-meter, Sobel again led all competitors with 361.10 points. SC also finished second and third. Farrar was second with 348.40 points, while Tyler Gunningsmith was third with 271.45 points.

Up next, Springfield will compete at Williams on Saturday, January 22 at 1 pm.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.