Springfield College Home > Athletics > Field Hockey

Brittany Veazie Named NEWMAC Athlete of the Year

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., November 7, 2006 — The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its field hockey post-season awards this afternoon, and Springfield College junior forward Brittany Veazie (Dexter, Maine) has been named Athlete of the Year.

WPI first-year Kelly Johnson was tabbed NEWMAC Rookie of the Year, and WPI Head Coach Johanna DiCarlo earned NEWMAC Coach of the Year honors for her efforts during the 2006 season. Clark University received the first-ever Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by the players at each institution.

Veazie finished the NEWMAC regular-season with 31 points (13 goals and 5 assists). This past weekend, Veazie was a key factor in helping the Pride capture its third-straight championship as she scored four goals and dished out two assists on the weekend, an effort that earned her a nod as the Conference’s Player of Week. Rookie of the Year and second team all-conference selection, Kelly Johnson, finished tied for second on WPI in total points. The first-year tallied eight goals and gave out seven assists during the regular season.

Engineers Head Coach Johanna DiCarlo directed WPI to its most successful finish in her four-year tenure at the institution. WPI closed out its 2006 campaign with a 12-6 overall record (4-4 against conference opponents).

Listed below is the complete 2006 NEWMAC Field Hockey All-Conference Teams:

NEWMAC Field Hockey All-Conference First-Team:
Sara Dimick, Wheaton – Jr., Forward, Cumberland, Maine
Heather Dunbar, Babson – Sr., Back, Hubbardston, Mass.
Jane Kelleher, Springfield – So., Forward, Chatham, Mass.
Kaitlin Kelley, Clark – Sr., Goalkeeper, Guilford, Conn.
Nicole Maglione, WPI – So., Forward, Charlton, Mass.
Julia Parzych, Wellesley – Sr., Forward, Auburn, Mass.
Jenn Shrull, Wellesley – Sr., Midfielder/Back, Windham, N.H.
Brittany Stevens, Babson – Jr., Midfielder/Back, Dudley, Mass.
Andrea Tufts, Babson – Sr., Forward, Wolfeboro, N.H.
Jillian Urtz, Springfield – So., Back, Verona, N.Y.
Brittany Veazie, Springfield – Jr., Forward, Dexter, Maine

NEWMAC Field Hockey All-Conference Second-Team:
Alisa Ardito, Wheaton – So., Forward, Brandford, Conn.
Anna Ayuso, MIT – Sr. Forward, Street, Md.
Carley Corkum, Clark – F.y., Back, Newbury, Mass.
Rebecca Capute, Smith – F.y., Forward, Easton, Md.
Emily Hewitt, Wellesley – So., Goalkeeper, Alexandria, Va.
Kelly Johnson, WPI – F.y., Midfielder, Buxton, Maine
Emma Kaplan, Springfield – Jr., Goalkeeper, Ridgefield, Conn.
Lydia Parzych, Wellesley – Sr. Forward, Auburn, Mass.
Sharon Prange, MIT – Sr., Back, Arlington, Va.
Lyndsie Ryalls, Wheaton – Jr., Forward, Branford, Conn.
Susan West, Mount Holyoke – Sr., Forward, Gwynedd Valley, Pa.

Recruit Me
2013 Field Hockey Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Melissa Sharpe

Melissa Sharpe After nine years as head coach of the Pride, Melissa Sharpe has continued the tradition of winning on the field hockey turf, posting an impressive 130-68 record, good for a winning percentage of .656 at the helm of her alma mater. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Melissa Sharpe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3167

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.