Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Sobel and Fitzgerald Named To NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team

Matt Fitzgerald Babson Park, Mass. - March 6, 2009 - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference announced its 2008-09 Men’s Swimming & Diving Academic All-Conference Team on Friday. Junior diver Matt Fitzgerald and sophomore diver Brian Sobel were each recognized for their efforts in the classroom. Both have had great years in the pool as well, as Sobel was named NEWMAC Diver of the Year and Fitzgerald was named to the NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team on both the one-meter and three-meter boards.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2008 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

The 2008-09 NEWMAC Men’s Swimming & Diving Academic All-Conference Team
Joel Bonina - 2011 - Babson
Pranav Kotwal - 2011 - Babson
Mikita Kourtchikov - 2011 - Babson
Ted Plaisted - 2010 - Babson
Mario Rodriguez - 2009 - Babson
Jeffrey Amari - 2011 - Clark
Salvatore Pezzella - 2009 - Clark
Brian Bonomi - 2011- Coast Guard
Zach McCune - 2011 - Coast Guard
Taylor Volkman - 2010 - Coast Guard
Zachary Cordero - 2010 - MIT
Udit Garg - 2009 - MIT
Daniel Jimenez - 2010 - MIT
Daniel Klenk - 2009 - MIT
Toomas Sepp - 2011 - MIT
John Walk - 2010 - MIT
Peter Wellings - 2009 - MIT
Jeff Zhou - 2010 - MIT
Matthew Fitzgerald - 2010 - Springfield
Brian Sobel - 2011 - Springfield
Lee Chiang - 2011 - WPI
Steve Rose - 2009 - WPI
Dan White - 2009 - WPI
Andrey Yamshchikov - 2010 9 WPI

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.