Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Thompson Earns Third NEWMAC Diver of the Week Honor

Thompson Earns NEWMAC Diver of the Week Honors Springfield, Mass. - February 7, 2011 - For the third time this season, freshman Jennifer Thompson was named the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Diver of the week.

The Cheshire, Conn. native has had a tremendous freshman year for the Pride as she took home the weekly honor for the third time. This is the fourth time this season a member of the Springfield College women's diving team has earned the honor, as Courtney Keefe was selected earlier this season.

Thompson won the one-meter competition in Springfield's dual meet with Amherst on Saturday. The freshman scored 272.62 points to earn first place for Springfield in the event. She also scored 257.62 points to place fifth in the three-meter competition.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.