Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Lacrosse

Six Members of the Women's Lacrosse Team Earn All-Conference Honors

Six Members of the Women's Lacrosse Team Earn All-Conference Honors Babson, Park, Mass. - May 5, 2009 - Six members of the Springfield College women's lacrosse team were named to the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) All-Conference Team on Tuesday afternoon. Lauren McAulay, Jenn Zubkus, Heather Dobson, and Nicole Flores were named to the first team, while Meghan Wisell and Erin Doolan picked up second team honors.

The Pride finished the year with a 12-6 record under first-year head coach Regan Denham and reached the NEWMAC Tournament Championship game before bowing out to Babson.

A Yorktown, N.Y. native, McAulay was terrific between the pipes this season for the Pride. The junior netminder had a goal against average of 8.77 this season and a save percentage of 51.5%. She finished the year with 140 saves and was especially impressive as she limited opponents to just 29 goals on 86 free-position shots.

Zubkus, who hails from Dover, N.H. led the Pride's balanced scoring attack with 53 points this season. She tallied 33 goals to go along with 20 assists, while added 18 draw controls, 17 caused turnovers, and 12 ground balls.

A local product from Longmeadow, Mass., Dobson concludes her impressive career with first-team accolades. The senior pumped in 49 points on the year as she tallied 33 goals to go along with 16 assists. A go-to player around the cage, Dobson scored 33 goals on just 62 shots this season and finished her career with 95 goals and 126 points.

A Branford, Conn. native, Flores made a seamless transition to defense as she was all over the field in her final season. She led the team with 46 ground balls and 25 caused turnovers as she appeared in all 18 games for the Pride. She also tallied 10 draw controls and added three assists.

Doolan was one of only two players to start every game for Springfield this season as the senior capped off an impressive career. She finished with 42 points as she netted 32 goals and handed out 10 assists. The Blauvelt, N.Y. native recorded 25 ground balls, 18 draw controls, and 12 caused turnovers as well for SC.

A first-team all-conference selection a year ago, Wisell was a leader in the Pride's defensive unit as a senior. She finished second on the team with 37 ground balls and added 22 caused turnovers as a physical presence in the defensive third. The South Burlington, Vt. product added 15 draw controls for the Pride in 2009.

Player of the Year
Anna Collins, Babson

Rookie of the Year
Trisha Babson, Babson

Coach of the Year
Julie McPhee, Wellesley

Sportsmanship Award
Smith College

First Team All-Conference
Kaitlyn Pettengill, Babson, M
Jackie Godfrey, Babson, M/A
Lindsay Bucci, Babson, A
Anna Collins, Babson, M
Casey Flynn, MIT, A
Stephanie Brenman, MIT, D
Heather Dobson, Springfield, A
Lauren McAulay, Springfield, GK
Jenn Zubkus, Springfield, A
Nicole Flores, Springfield, D

Loretta White, Wellesley, M
Caitlin Grant, Wheaton, A

Second Team All-Conference
Jessica Parker, Babson, A
Trisha Babson, Babson, M
Sarah Macary, Babson, GK
Samantha O’Keefe, MIT, M
Ava Gottschall, Mount Holyoke, M
Peggy Wefald, Mount Holyoke, M
Meghan Wisell, Springfield, D
Erin Doolan, Springfield, A

Molly Morrow, Wellesley, A
Jenny Holland, Wellesley, A
Meredith Roy, Wellesley, M
Bridget Thornton, Wheaton, M

2014 Women's Lacrosse Virtual Team Guide
Recruit Me

Team Links

Head Coach Kristen Mullady

Kristen Mullady Kristen Mullady ‘00, enters her fifth season as the head women’s lacrosse coach at Springfield College. A former standout for Springfield’s women’s lacrosse team, Mullady led Springfield to back to back NEWMAC titles in 2012 and 2013. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Kristen Mullady

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3173

Follow us On Twitter

Find Us On Facebook

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.