Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Volleyball

Ilkson and Yohe Selected To Play in 2008 NEWVA Senior Classic

Aylene Ilkson and Heidi Yohe BRISTOL, R.I.- The New England Women’s Volleyball Association announced today New England’s top 32 Division III senior volleyball players invited to compete in the 2008 NEWVA Senior Classic, Sunday, Nov. 16, at Wellesley College.

The annual event features the area’s top seniors competing in various competitions leading up to the afternoon’s all-star match. Players were selected by a vote of all participating member head coaches following the nomination process.

Springfield seniors Aylene Ilkson and Heidi Yohe were both selected to participate in the event after outstanding senior campaigns for the Pride.

The 32 players selected hail from 15 different states and the UK and represent 19 collegiate institutions from five separate conferences. The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) boasts 15 players in the event, while both The Commonwealth Coast Conference (TCCC) and New England Metro-Atlantic Conference (NEWMAC) each send six players. The University Athletic Conference (UAA), Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) and the Little East Conference (LEC) also are represented.

Warm-up for the event begins at 10:30 a.m. with the match scheduled to begin following the morning’s competitions at approximately 12:30 p.m.

Established nearly 25 years ago, the New England Women’s Volleyball Association is open to all collegiate institutions in New England sponsoring Division III women’s volleyball. Membership has grown to 60 members in 2008, representing eight conferences.

Listed below are the 32 invitees to the 2008 NEWVA Senior Classic.

Amherst - Sara Heller
Amherst - Hannah Wirth
Bates - Beth Billington
Brandeis -Violette Ruggiero
Brandeis- Lorraine Wingenbach
Colby- Meredith Lawler
Colby -Jenny Lawrence
Colby-Sawyer Taylor Forsberg
Colby-Sawyer - Kristin Romanko
Conn. College -Jenna Tjossem
Conn. College -Caitlin Tomaska
Emmanuel - Lindsay Parker
Endicott - Hayley Janelle
Endicott - Brittany Nolan
Keene St. - Brittany O'Bryant
Middlebury - Lindsay Patterson
MIT - Lindsay Hunting
UNE - Alex Toregas
Rivier - Laura Ciummo
Roger Williams - Kirsten Bosworth
Springfield - Aylene Ilkson
Springfield - Heidi Yohe

Trinity - Emily Borsting
Trinity - Nicole Cahill
Tufts - Kate Denniston
Tufts - Stacy Filocco
Tufts - Natalie Goldstein
Tufts - Maya Ripecky
USCGA - Nicole Gurr
Wellesley - Jessica Duff
Wellesley - Emily Peters
Wesleyan - Lisa Drennan

Recruit Me

2013 Women's Volleyball Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Moira Long

Head Coach Moira Long Moira Long will enter her third season as head women's volleyball coach in the fall of 2013. Long has wasted little time putting her stamp on the program, taking the Pride to consecutive trips to the NCAA Championships, including the Elite Eight in 2011. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Moira Long

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3438

Follow us On Twitter

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.