Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Lacrosse

Carmody, Reiniger Named ECAC New England First-Team All Stars

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., June 2, 2003 – Springfield College senior first baseman Ali Gerrish and sophomore designated player Brianne Pearson were named to the 2003 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III Softball New England All-Star First Team, announced today.

SC senior defense Lindsay Reiniger and freshman attack Holly Carmody were ECAC Division III Women’s Lacrosse New England First-Team All Stars. The SC men’s lacrosse team placed junior attack Paul Purdy and freshman attack Taylor Brown on the ECAC Division III New England All-Star Second Team.

Gerrish, a native of Plymouth, Mass., earned her third-career All-American honor this season, and was named Division III Player of the Year by the New England Intercollegiate Softball Coaches Association (NEISCA). Gerrish, who holds eight school records including the career marks for batting average (.449), doubles (61), runs batted in (160), and walks (tied, 70). This season she led the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) in doubles (21) and runs batted in (42), and placed second in batting average (.458) and home runs (seven).

Pearson, who hails from Brockton, Mass., earned numerous post-season accolades. She was a member of the NEWMAC all-conference first team, the NEISCA All-New England, and the National Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association (NFCA) Division III New England All-Region second teams. Pearson, who led the NEWMAC in runs scored this season (40) and smashed seven home runs, was also the Pride’s top pitcher. She finished with a record of 22-7 with a 1.88 earned-run average as SC earned the top seed in the ECAC Division III New England Tournament.

Reiniger, a resident of Rochester, N.Y., anchored the women’s lacrosse team’s defense for the past four years. The senior earned all-NEWMAC first-team honors for the second-consecutive season, and finished tied for second in the conference in assists (24) and eighth in ground balls (60). She holds the school record for assists in a season (31 in 2002) and in a career (79).

Carmody, a freshman from Wayland, Mass., was tabbed NEWMAC Rookie of the Year as well as being selected to the all-conference first team. She led the league in ground balls (89), was fourth in goals (44), and fifth in points (55). Carmody became the first freshman in school history to lead the team in points. The Pride earned the second seed in the ECAC Division III New England Tournament this spring.

Brown, a native of Portsmouth, R.I., was an STX/United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association honorable mention All-American. Brown, who was the Pilgrim League Rookie of the Year and East Division Player of the Year, set a freshman single-season school record with 73 points, and ranked him 12th nationally in scoring average. He was also named New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) Rookie of the Year while earning first-team all-star honors.

Purdy, who resides in Brewster, N.Y., earned Pilgrim League East Division All-Conference and NEILA Second Team All-Star honors this season. The junior was second on the Pride in points (63), goals (38), and assists (25) while netting two game-winning goals this spring. The Pride captured the Pilgrim League Championship and reached the NCAA Division III Tournament for the third time in four seasons.
2014 Women's Lacrosse Virtual Team Guide
Recruit Me

Team Links

Head Coach Kristen Mullady

Kristen Mullady Kristen Mullady ‘00, enters her fifth season as the head women’s lacrosse coach at Springfield College. A former standout for Springfield’s women’s lacrosse team, Mullady led Springfield to back to back NEWMAC titles in 2012 and 2013. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Kristen Mullady

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3173

Follow us On Twitter

Find Us On Facebook

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.