Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Coast Guard Takes '04 NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championship

NEWMAC Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships
Springfield College, Friday-Sunday, February 27-29, 2004

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., Feb. 29, 2004 – Coast Guard won the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men’s Swimming & Diving Championship tonight in the Art Linkletter Natatorium at Springfield College.

The Bears, who also won the conference title in 1999 and 2001, outdistanced second-place MIT and third-place Springfield. Six championship meet records were broken in the three-day event.

Freshman Christopher Luchey, who won the 100-yard freestyle (47.54), was the Bears’ only event winner. Coast Guard, however, placed second in 10 events, including three relays.

MIT freshman Craig Edwards won two individual events, including the 100-yard backstroke (conference record 50.66), and swam a leg on three first-place relay teams. Springfield College sophomore diver Mike Shaw (Westfield, Mass.) won the 1-meter (497.00) and 3-meter (conference record 506.750) diving events for the second-straight season. SC junior Louis Arruda (West Warwick, R.I.) won three individual events, and set meet records in the 200 (1:42.17) and the 500 (4:40.40) freestyles.

Day Click here for results from Prelims Click here for results from Finals Friday in .html
in .pdf
1 meter diving in .html
1 meter diving in .pdf in html
in .pdf Saturday in .html
in .pdf in .html Sunday in .html Complete meet results in .html
Team Scores After Day One:
1. Coast Guard, 374
2. MIT, 327
3. Springfield College, 277
4. WPI, 222
5. Babson, 190
6. Wheaton, 179
7. Clark, 60

Team Scores After Day Two:
1. Coast Guard, 827.50
2. MIT, 787.50
3. Springfield College, 554.50
4. Babson, 419.00
5. WPI, 408.50
6. Wheaton, 378.00
7. Clark, 117.00

Final Team Scores:
1. Coast Guard, 1,261.50
2. MIT, 1,162.50
3. Springfield College, 824.50
4. Babson, 628
5. Wheaton, 551
6. WPI, 538.50
7. Clark, 173

* (Trials, in Finals, the top 8 seeds will swim at night in the first event.)
Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.