Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Lacrosse

Four Members of the Women's Lacrosse Team Garner All-Conference Accolades

Meghan Wissel BABSON PARK, Mass. – April 29, 2008 – The Springfield College women's lacrosse team had four players named to the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference All-Conference team which was announced on Tuesday afternoon.

Alexandra Bazzano, Rachel Lampros, and Meghan Wissel were selected to the NEWMAC First Team, while teammate Meagan Dobson was a second team selections.

Springfield finished the year with a 10-7 record and bowed out in the NEWMAC semifinals, as it had earned the No. 2 seed in the tournament

A native of Newington, Conn., Bazzano had a breakout year for the Pride as she was sensational in the midfield for Springfield all season long. The sophomore netted a team best 38 goals and added five assists as she recorded 43 points on the season, second best on the team. She also led the team in draw controls with 30 and caused a team-best 28 turnovers. On the year, she also scooped up 33 groundballs.

Hailing from Boxborough, Mass., Lampros concluded her career at Springfield in impressive fashion as she led the team in points with 54. A leader on the field, Lampros netted 30 goals to go along with 24 assists and 27 draw controls won. She finished with 125 for her career, putting her in 5th place all-time in Springfield College goal-scoring history.

Anchoring the Pride's defense, Wisell, the South Burlington, Vt.. product, had a stellar junior season for the Pride. Wisell appeared in all 17 games as she picked up 28 ground balls and added 16 caused turnovers and 14 draw controls. The Pride's 9.48 goals against average ranked second in the league behind league-champion Babson.

In just her first year at Springfield, Dobson, a native of Longmeadow, Mass., splashed on the women's lacrosse scene as one of the most athletic and versatile players on the squad. Appearing in all 17 contests, Dobson netted three goals and added three assists, but her presence was truly felt on the defensive side of the ball. Dobson picked up 35 ground balls, added 12 draw controls, and caused 11 turnovers in her rookie campaign.

2008 NEWMAC Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Team and Award Winners
Player of the Year
Anita Martignetti, SR, Babson, M

Rookie of the Year
Sarah Macary, FY, Babson, GK

Coach of the Year
Vanessa Cox, MIT

Sportsmanship Award
Mount Holyoke

First Team All-Conference
Brianne Carlson, SR, Babson, A/M
Anna Collins, SO, Babson, M
Jackie Godfrey, FY, Babson, A/M
Anita Martignetti, SR, Babson, M
Kaitlyn Pettengill, SO, Babson, M
Sarah Smith, SR, Smith, GK
Alexandra Bazzano, SO, Springfield, M
Rachel Lampros, GR, Springfield, A
Meghan Wisell, JR, Springfield, D

Haley Geller, SO, Wellesley, M
Loretta White, SO, Wellesley, M/D
Meredith Hurd, SR, Wheaton, A/M

Second Team All-Conference
Casey Flynn, SO, MIT, A
Samantha O’Keefe, SO, MIT, M
Laura Watson, SR, MIT, M
Ava Gottschall, JR, Mount Holyoke, M
Peggy Wefald, SO, Mount Holyoke, M
Caitlin Kennedy, FY, Smith, A
Sara Smyth, SR, Smith, A
Meagan Dobson, FY, Springfield, M
Dee Garrahan, JR, Wellesley, D
Colette Whitaker, SO, Wellesley, A
Sara Dimick, SR, Wheaton, M
Caitlin Grant, JR, Wheaton, A

2014 Women's Lacrosse Virtual Team Guide
Recruit Me

Team Links

Head Coach Kristen Mullady

Kristen Mullady Kristen Mullady ‘00, enters her fifth season as the head women’s lacrosse coach at Springfield College. A former standout for Springfield’s women’s lacrosse team, Mullady led Springfield to back to back NEWMAC titles in 2012 and 2013. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Kristen Mullady

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3173

Follow us On Twitter

Find Us On Facebook

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.