Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

11 Student-Athletes Headed to NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships

Springfield College Swimming and Diving
Order of Events - Live Stats - Live Video

Springfield, Mass. - March 5, 2014 - The Springfield College swimming and diving programs will be represented by 11 student-athletes at the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships in Indianapolis, Indiana from Wednesday March 19 to Saturday March 22.

The preliminaries will begin each day at 10:00 a.m. with the finals getting underway at 6:00 p.m. each evening.

Kellie Pennington (Monson, Mass.) will headline the group as the senior is ranked in the top three in each of her three individual events. The four-time New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Swimmer of the Year is ranked No. 1 in the 50 free (23.05), No. 2 in the 100 free (50.10) and No. 3 in the 200 free (1:50.02). The 50 free will take place on Wednesday, the 200 free on Thursday and the 100 free on Saturday.

On the diving boards, Jen Thompson (Cheshire, Conn.) will make her fourth trip to the NCAA Championship while Jack Lewis (Durham, N.H.) will make his first. Last year, Thompson finished fifth on the 3-meter board and 19th on the one-meter board. At the NCAA Northeast Division III Diving Regionals, the senior finished third on each of the boards. Lewis finished sixth in each of the diving events at the regional championship to earn his first bid into the NCAA Championship. The men's three-meter board will take place on Wednesday, the women's one-meter on Thursday, men's one-meter on Friday and the women's three-meter on Saturday.

First-year Emily Medeiros (Wakefield, Mass.) is seeded 12th in the 100 breast (1:04.27) which will be held on Friday. Sophomore Ashleigh Monroe (Southbury, Conn.), in her second trip to the NCAA Championship, is seeded 17th in the 500 free (4:59.30) which will be swam on Wednesday.

On the men's side, Michael Normoyle (Springfield, Mass.) is ranked 16th in the 200 breast (2:02.69) and 19th in the 100 breast (56.28). The 100 will be swam on Friday and the 200 on Saturday.

Combinations of Pennington, Monroe, Medeiros, Callie Phillips (East Longmeadow, Mass.), Christiana Greco (Wilbraham, Mass.), Delaney Dyjak (Ludlow, Mass.), Kelsey Poole (Westfield, Mass.) and Nicole Scotto (Southbury, Conn.) will swim five different relays. The 800 free relay is seeded No. 9 (7:33.59), both the 400 free relay (3:28.30) and the 400 medley relay (3:49.33) are seeded 10th and the 200 free relay (1:35.65) is seeded 15th. They will also compete in the 200 medley relay (1:46.46).

Individually, Monroe will also swim in the 200 free and the 1650 free; Phillips will swim in the 200 IM, 400 IM and 200 free; Medeiros will swim in the 100 fly and the 200 breast, while Greco and Dyjak will both swim in the 100 fly. In addition to the 100 and 200 breast, Normoyle will swim in the 200 IM.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.