Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Volleyball

Springfield College Recognizes Outstanding Athletic Year At 2008 Annual Sports Recognition Night

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Chris Sharpe was named Springfield College Multi-Sport Athlete of the Year as well as receiving Senior Male Team Award to highlight the evening as Springfield College recognized the most outstanding performances and student athletes of the 2007-08 school year at the 2008 Annual Sports Recognition Night held Sunday evening on campus in Blake Arena. The emcee for the evening was Revered Dr. Robert E. Price, a professor of Religion at the College.

The evening marked one of the most successful years in athletics at Springfield College in recent years. The field hockey, women’s soccer, softball, and men’s lacrosse teams all qualified for the NCAA Tournament, while the track and field, wrestling, swimming and diving, and gymnastics programs all sent individuals to the NCAA Championships.

The program concluded with Associate Athletic Director Dr. Kelly Hart awarding the softball team with the Pride Challenge Award, an award that recognizes the team that excels the most in community outreach, team enhancement, academics, PAAC communication, team goals, and supporting fellow student athletes.

As the final sendoff of the evening, all the head coaches led the gathering in the singing of the Alma Mater, A Song for Springfield.

2007-08 Springfield College Award Winners

Springfield College News Media Recognition Award – Nick Carboni – Springfield Student

Female Scholar Athlete Award – Jess Borsotti – Women’s Cross Country

Male Scholar Athlete Award – Justin Nussey - Baseball

Female “Unsung Award” Athlete of the Year – Kayla Thibeault – Women’s Soccer

Male “Unsung Award” Athlete of the Year – Javier Rosario – Men’s Volleyball

Courageous Male Athlete “Vic Ohanesian” Award – Justin Zook – Men’s Swimming

Freshman Female Individual Award – Lacey Cartier – Women’s Cross Country and Track

Freshman Male Individual Award – Josh Fox – Men’s Gymnastics

Freshman Female Team Award - Bethany Stosz – Women’s Volleyball

Freshman Male Team Award– Cal Palumbo – Men’s Volleyball

Sophomore Female Individual Award – Nikki Hay – Women’s Track and Field

Sophomore Male Individual Award – Steve Headley – Men’s Track

Sophomore Female Team Award – Michelle Wlosek - Softball

Sophomore Male Team Award – Adrian Schippers – Men’s Soccer

Junior Female Individual Award – Moira Price – Women’s Swimming

Junior Male Individual Award – Mike Griffin – Men’s Cross Country and Track

Junior Female Team Award – Jane Kelleher – Field Hockey

Junior Male Team Award – Andy Sipe – Men’s Volleyball

Senior Female Individual Team Award – Melissa Nelson

Senior Male Individual Team Award – Roy Burch – Men’s Swimming

Senior Female Team Award – Nicole Hanewich – Women’s Soccer

Senior Male Team Award – Chris Sharpe – Men’s Lacrosse and Football

Female Multi-Sport Athlete – Lindsay Bugbee – Women’s Lacrosse and Women’s Soccer

Male Multi-Sport Athlete – Chris Sharpe – Football and Men’s Lacrosse

Pride Challenge Award – Softball Team

Recruit Me

2014 Men's Volleyball Virtual Team Guide

Russia Highlight Video

Follow us On Twitter

Team Links

Head Coach Charlie Sullivan

Charlie Sullivan With eight national championships to his credit, Charlie Sullivan will enter his 16th season as head coach of the men's volleyball team in 2014. In 15 previous years at the helm, Sullivan owns an overall record of 256-158 for a .618 winning percentage. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Charlie Sullivan

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3850

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.