Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Price and Reilly Earn Top Honors as NEWMAC Postseason Honors Announced

Michelle Reggio Springfield, Mass. - March 5, 2009 - For the third-straight year, Moira Price was named NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year, while Kaitlin Reilly was honored as the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year the conference office announced. Six members of the Springfield College women's swimming and diving team were recognized individually as members of the NEWMAC All-Conference Team while five of Springfield's relay teams earned all-conference honors.

Three-time NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year Moira Price powered the Pride to its ninth-straight conference title as she was terrific over the weekend's events. Price earned All-NEWMAC First Team honors individually in the 200 breast (2:16.42), 100 breast (1:04.14), and 50 free (23.71) as she won all three events.

Meg Cooney snagged several all-conference honors in a breakout meet for her as she was named first-team all-conference in the 200 backstroke (2:04.37) and 100 backstroke (58.12), while earning second-team honors in the 200 IM (2:09.74).

After finishing second in both the one-meter (452.75) and three-meter (483.95) diving events, Michelle Reggio earned All-NEWMAC Second Team accolades.

Kallie Pottle took home a pair of second-team all-conference honors as she finished second behind Cooney in both the 100 backstroke (59.20) and the 200 backstroke (2:05.43).

Two other members of the Pride picked up individual all-conference honors as Meredith Trumbull won the 400 IM (4:42.78) en route to first team honors, while Aimee Doe earned a pair of second-team all conference accolades in the 200 freestyle (1:54.18) and the 500 freestyle (5:09.45).

As for the Springfield relay teams, four of which broke school records, there were plenty of all-conference honors awarded. The 400 Yard freestyle relay team of NEWMAC Rookie of the Year Kaitlin Reilly, Doe, Pottle, and Price earned first-team honors with a time 3:32.56. The 200 medley relay team of Cooney, Price, Reilly, and Caroline Kosciusko also earned first-team honors after finishing first in 1:45.70. The Pride's 800 free relay finished first en route to All-NEWMAC First Team honors as Kosciusko, Doe, Jaclyn Van Waalwijk, and Pottle touched in 7:49.25. The final relay team pick up first team honors was Springfield's 400 Yard Medley unit Pottle, Price, Reilly, and Doe of that swam a time of 3:54.95. Springfield's fifth relay to earn recognition, the 200 free relay team of Price, Kosciusko, Van Waalwijk, and Reilly took home second-team honors with a time of 1:35.65.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.