Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Men's Swimming & Diving Too Much For Holy Cross

Complete results

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., Oct. 27, 2004 – Springfield College junior All-American Mike Shaw (Westfield, Mass.) posted national qualifying scores in one and three-meter diving to lead the Pride to a 129-92 victory over Division I Holy Cross in the season-opener for both teams tonight in the Art Linkletter Natatorium.

Shaw, the defending Division III national champion in three-meter diving, scored 308.85 on the three-meter board and 281.62 in one-meter diving to win both events. In his first college meet, freshman Ben Casavant (Acton, Mass.) also posted nationally qualifying scores in the one (265.50) and three-meter (295.73) competitions.

SC junior Dan Moran (Wilbraham, Mass.) won the 200-individual medley (2:04.52). Freshman Roy Burch (Warwick, Bermuda) picked up wins in the 50 free (21:62) and 100 free (47.50). He also swam a leg on SC’s first-place 200 freestyle relay (1:27.78), which also featured senior Jeff Doornweerd (Meriden, Conn.), senior Louis Arruda (West Warwick, R.I.) and sophomore Paul McCloskey (Brookfield, Conn.).

Senior Tim Ryan (Hatboro, Pa.) was first in the 100 backstroke (59.26) and helped sophomore Ryan Mahoney (Westford, Mass.), sophomore Chris LeCompte (Londonderry, N.H.) and senior Blake Leshnick (Suffern, N.Y.) win the 400 medley relay (3:44.78).

On the women’s side, the Pride scored a 137-96 triumph. Senior All-America Megan Skinner (Acton, Mass.) placed first in the 200 freestyle (2:00.75), and joined freshman Emily Sheehan (Erin, N.Y.), freshman Heather McMahon (Holyoke, Mass.) and sophomore Meaghan O’Hara (Bedford, N.H.) to win the 400 medley relay (4:14.32).

SC junior Emily Phillips (North Windham, Conn.) had a big night, winning the 50 free (25.37) and the 100 free (55.22). She was also part of the winning 200 freestyle relay (1:44.60, along with sophomore Julianne McCormick (East Walpole, Mass.), junior Alicia Hart (West Hartford, Conn.) and junior Melissa Denza (Torrington, Conn.). Junior Sarah Strout (Edgecomb, Maine) won the 500 free (5:27.58) and 1000 free (11:01.43).
Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.