Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Volleyball

Women's Volleyball Earns NEWVA Team Academic Honor

Molly Giannattasio  Springfield, Mass. - February 29, 2012 - The New England Women’s Volleyball Association announced its recipients of the NEWVA Academic Team Award. Springfield College was one of 14 teams to earn the honor, attaining a team-average of at least a 3.30 GPA during the fall semester.

The NEWVA Academic Team Award was established in 2008 to recognize the hard work and dedication of the teams’ student-athletes off the court and in the classroom. 27% of all member programs qualified for the prestigious award marking the largest percentage since the award’s introduction.

Listed below are the NEWVA Academic Team Award winners. The number of years a team has won the award is listed in parentheses.

Bowdoin College (4)
Connecticut College (4)
Emerson College (3)
Emmanuel College (1)
Husson University (2)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (3)
Middlebury College (4)
Roger Williams University (3)
Salve Regina University (1)
Springfield College (3)
Trinity College (2)
Wesleyan University (2)
Western New England University (1)
Westfield State University (1)
Williams College (4)

Established nearly 25 years ago, the New England Women’s Volleyball Association is open to all collegiate institutions in New England sponsoring Division III women’s volleyball. Membership has grown to 56 members in 2012, representing nine different conferences.

Recruit Me

2013 Women's Volleyball Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Moira Long

Head Coach Moira Long Moira Long will enter her third season as head women's volleyball coach in the fall of 2013. Long has wasted little time putting her stamp on the program, taking the Pride to consecutive trips to the NCAA Championships, including the Elite Eight in 2011. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Moira Long

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3438

Follow us On Twitter

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.