Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Men's Swimming and Diving Finishes Second at NEWMAC Championships

Michael Normoyle Complete Results

Cambridge, Mass. - February 17, 2013 - Led by Kenny Pancoast and Michael Normoyle, the Springfield College men's swimming and diving team finished second at the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship on Sunday.

This marks the first time that Springfield finished second at the NEWMAC Championships since 2006, as it had finished third each of the past six years.

MIT won for the fifth-consecutive year with 1,178 points, followed by the Pride's total of 658.5. Coast Guard (542), WPI (477), Babson (397.5), Wheaton (294), and Clark (181) rounded out the team scoring.

Pancoast was named the NEWMAC Men's Diver of the Year for the second-consecutive season after sweeping the diving events and became Springfield College's sixth-straight NEWMAC Men's Diver of the Year. The senior captured the three-meter championship with a score of 543.85.

Normoyle, who set three individual school records over the weekend, became the first Springfield College men's swimmer to be named the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year. On Sunday, he put forth one of the more dominating performances of the championship, setting a school, meet, and open record in the 200 breast. Swimming a remarkable 2:02.20, the first-year smashed Ryan Mackstutis' 2010 school record of 2:08.9 by over six seconds to earn his second win of the weekend.

Travis Morse also added a new school record in the 200 back as finished sixth in the championship race with a time of 1:54.49. His time of 1:54.32 in the prelims bested Josh Ernst's time of 1:54.72 from last season.

On the three-meter, Jack Lewis finished as the runner-up with a 518.65, while Pat Smith took fourth with a 457.40. In addition Derek Shaver (421.90) and Trevor Sniffin (379.5) placed fifth and sixth.

Brad Mills also had a great race in the 200 breast, clocking in at 2:08.43, and Phillip Murphy took ninth in the 1,650 freestyle after registering a 16:50.99.

In the 100 free, Scotto registered a 46.81 to finish in seventh, while the Pride posted a pair of swimmers in the top eight of the 200 fly. John Vatkevich clocked in at 1:56.31 to take fifth and Pat Geraghty's time of 1:57.81 earned him eighth.

Springfield College student-athletes with national qualifying times will compete at the NCAA Division III Championships in Shenandoah, Texas on March 20-23.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.