Springfield College Home > Athletics > Football

2011 Captains Named at Football Awards Banquet

2011 Captains Named at Football Awards Banquet   Springfield, Mass. -- December 20, 2010 -- Captains for the 2011 team were named by Head Coach Mike DeLong at last Friday night's Springfield College Football Awards Banquet at the Townhouse complex on campus. In addition, many awards were presented, including Team MVP.

The Pride recently completed a very successful season, finishing with a 9-2 overall record, and a 3-2 mark in the highly-competitive Empire 8 conference. SC also ended by defeating Mount Ida College, 26-17, to win the ECAC Division III North Atlantic Championship Bowl game. It was SC's second straight ECAC Division III Championship Bowl victory. SC is now 5-0 in ECAC Bowl games.

The nine wins also represented just the sixth time in school history that a Springfield College football team had won as many as nine games.

Certainly one of the highlights of the night was the naming of the 2011 captains. They were free safety James Kikel (Glendale, N.Y.), offensive lineman Sean Meagher (Cape Elizabeth, Me.), strong safety Matt Ramos (Milford, Conn.), and halfback Mark Safer (St. Johns, Fla.).

Several major awards were distributed during the evening's festivities. Senior defensive end Cody Flanigan (Auburn, N.Y.) was named the overall Team MVP. The team's Offensive MVP was senior halfback Antoine King (Boston, Mass.). The team's defensive MVP, for the second year in a row, was senior ILB Ken Goodwin (Foxboro, Mass.) The team's Special Teams Award went to Safer.

The Norman Keith Student-Athlete Award was presented to senior wide receiver Tim Brady (Southbury, Conn.) and his 3.89 GPA. The Ossie Solem/Ted Dunn/Nate Osur Brotherhood Award (for exemplifying the ideals of the humanics philosophy) went to senior tri-captain Joe Myhren (New Hampton, N.Y.).The Most Improved Player Award, this year named for the late Jason Bednarz '10 for the first time, was given to freshman quarterback Austin Bateman (Ganesvoort, N.Y.).

There were several other top awards. The Howard Resnick Award (team player) went to senior tri-captain and offensive lineman John Carlson (Cromwell, Conn.). Carlson also picked up the Most Courageous Award. The Scout Team Awards were given to sophomore wide receiver Mike Escalante (Glen Rock, N.J.) (White Team), as well as to freshman wide receiver Ollie Robinson (Far Rockaway, N.Y.) (Maroon Team). And finally, the King Roach Award (offensive lineman most top plays) went to Meagher.

Carlson and Flanigan were named 2010 D3Football All-East Third Team. Goodwin was named 2010 First Team All-New England. All three were named 2010 First Team All-Empire 8.

Recruit Me

2013 Football Virtual Team Guide

Team Links

Find Us On Facebook

Head Coach Mike DeLong

Head Coach Mike DeLong Mike DeLong enters his 32nd season as a head football coach in the fall of 2013, including his 30th year as the head coach at his alma mater, Springfield College. To date, DeLong currently has the second-most career wins of any active Division III football coach. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Mike Delong

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3156

Springfield College Tailgating Policy
Athletic Equipment
Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.