Springfield College Home > Athletics > Wrestling

Wrestling Finishes Second at Budd Whitehill Duals

Derrick Longo Williamsport, Pa. -- January 14, 2012 -- The 22nd-ranked Springfield College wrestling team, the fifth-seed in the tournament, knocked off top-seeded SUNY-Cortland, 21-19, on Saturday morning, but then lost to #12-ranked Wisconsin-Whitewater, 27-9, in the championship bout of the Budd Whitehill Duals at Lycoming College. Cortland, ranked 7th nationally, was unbeaten entering its match versus SC.

The Pride, now 4-1 in dual meets this season, won five straight bouts from the 141-pound weight class to the 174 weight class in the Cortland match as Joe Grippi, Eric Hamrick, Ryan McGilvray, Derrick Longo and Mike Fish were all victorious. Both Hamrick and McGilvray won by fall to lead Springfield to the upset-victory.

Then in the championship match versus UW-Whitewater, three individuals were victorious for Springfield. They were Joe Grippi, Eric Hamrick, and Derrick Longo.

In total, two SC wrestlers finished 4-0 in the tournament -- Hamrick at 149 and Longo at 165.


Semifinal Round
Springfield 21, SUNY Cortland 19
125: Jared Lemke (CS) dec. Tom Casper, 7-6
133: Sean Kempf (CS) maj. dec. Jesse Sgaglione, 10-1
141: Joseph Grippi (SC) dec. Brian Bistis, 6-1
149: Eric Hamrick (SC) fall Andre Berry, 6:10
157: Ryan McGilvray (SC) fall Adam Willman (CS), 4:36
165: Derrick Longo (SC) dec. Jonathan Conroy, 5-3
174: Michael Fish (SC) dec. James Ondris, 8-4
184: Carl Korpi (CS) fall Jason Barriault, 1:10
197: Jared Myhrberg (CS) dec. Jeremy Burns, 10-3
285: Corey James (CS) dec. John Gabordi, 1-0

Championship Round
Wisconsin-Whitewater 27, Springfield 9
125: Mike Schloegel (UWW) maj. dec. Tom Casper, 9-1
133: Jake Fredrickson (UWW) dec. Derek Adams, 5-3
141: Joe Grippi (SC) dec. Elroy Perkin, 11-5
149: Eric Hamrick (SC) dec. Brian Lewis, 2-1
157: Corey Schmidt (UWW) maj. dec. Ryan McGilvray, 10-0
165: Derrick Longo (SC) dec. Cedric Gibson, 11-9
174: Reid Dickerson (UWW) dec. Michael Fish, 3-2
184: David Dwyer (UWW) won by forfeit
197: Adam Latella (UWW) dec. Jeremy Burns, 3-2
285: Corey Anderson (UWW) maj. dec. John Gabordi, 12-3

Recruit Me Wrestling Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach Jason Holder

Head Coach Jason Holder Jason Holder will enter his third season as head wrestling coach in 2013. Holder had a standout first season at the helm of the Pride, leading Springfield to the NEWA Duals Championship and taking three wrestlers to the NCAA Championships. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Jason Holder

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3276

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.