Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Swimming And Diving

Sobel Selected as NEWMAC Men's Co-Diver of the Week

Brian Sobel Springfield, Mass. - February 1, 2010 - Junior Brian Sobel was tabbed the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Co-Diver of the Week after his record-breaking performance at Babson College on Saturday.

Sobel shared this week's award with Babson's Aaron Paradis, as the two split the diving competition on Saturday in a showdown of two of the best divers in the conference.

The Stratford, Conn. native's record-setting performance on the one-meter gave earned him first place as he recorded a mark of 336.10, breaking his old mark of 334.50 which he set last year. Sobel also took second on the three-meter with a mark of 317.25.

For Sobel, this marks the fourth-straight week that he has been honored by the conference office as their top diver of the week.

Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III. Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and will enter his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.