Springfield College Home > Athletics > Men's Track And Field

Men's Track & Field Awards Announced

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., May 15, 2003 - Springfield College men's track and field head coach Ken Klatka announced the winners of the team awards at the recently held banquet.

Freshmen Billy King (Willmington, Mass.) and Chris Keyser (Newbury, Mass.) were named Rookie of the Year. King and Keyser were both members of SC's 4X100 relay team that took home first place in the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championships. King and Keyser were both all-conference selections.

Seniors Vinnie Mazzaferro (Brimfield, Mass.), Chris Roy (Fairhaven, Mass.), and Jon Notary (Bethlehem, Pa.) were all honored with the Riggie Award as unsung heroes. Mazzaferro and Roy made up the other half of the 4X100 relay team that captured the NEWMAC title in that event. Notary was named to the NEWMAC all-conference second team and NEWMAC All-Academic team.

Seniors Michael Heitkamp (Orwell, Vt.) and Adam Hughes (Bridgewater, Conn.) earned team most valuable player (MVP) honors. Heitkamp won the discus (191 feet 6 inches) and javelin throw (188 feet) at the Division III New England Outdoor Track and Feild Championship. Heitkamp also placed sixth in the high jump (1.96 m) and eighth in the javelin throw (55.33 m) at the New England Intercollegiate Championship. Hughes won both the 100-meter high hurdles (15.26) and 400-meter hurdles (54.54) at the Vern Cox Invitational held at Springfield College's Blake Track. He was also named the the NEWMAC All-Academic team.

Juniors Eric Peloquin (Thompson, Conn.), Pawel Jaroszewicz (East Longmeadow, Mass.), Brian Pearsall (Fairport, N.Y.), and sophomore Matt Acciaioli (Warwick, R.I.) all earned the Bearcat Award for most improved athletes. Peloquin finished fourth in the 5000-meter (16:31.67) at the Vern Cox Invitational. Jaroszewicz sprinted his way to a third place finish in the 200-meter dash (21.81) at the New England Intercollegiate Championship. Pearsall won the 800-meters (1:56.78) at the NEWMAC Championships and was named to the NEWMAC All-Academic team. Acciaioli earned second-team all-conference honors in the shot put.
Men's Track & Field Virtual Guide 2014

Team Links

Head Coach Ken Klatka

Ken Klatka Ken Klatka, an associate professor of physical education at Springfield College, will enter his 38th season as head coach, and 44th as a coach overall, of the men’s track and field program in 2013-2014. He ranks among the nation’s most successful coaches, with an overall record of 447 wins, 156 losses, and two ties for an impressive .743 winning percentage. In 2011, Klatka was inducted into the Springfield College Athletic Hall of Fame. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Ken Klatka

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3230

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.