Springfield College Home > Athletics > Women's Swimming and Diving

Women's Swimming and Diving Defeats Wheaton In Home Opener

Complete Results

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., November 19, 2005 – Springfield College All-Americans Chris LeCompte (Londonderry, N.H.) and Roy Burch (Warwick, Bermuda) each won an individual event and were part of a winning relay team as the Pride (2-2) defeated Wheaton College this afternoon, 140-105, at the Art Linkletter Natatorium.

LeCompte finished first in the 1000 freestyle event (10:43.84), while Burch swam to victory in the 100 free (47.68). LeCompte and Burch teamed with senior Ross Craig (Brookfield, Conn.) and junior Ryan Mahoney (Westford, Mass.) to take first in the 200 medley relay (1:39.44). Craig and Mahoney each won individual events for the Pride, finishing first in the 200 butterfly and 100 breaststroke events, respectively.

Senior Paul McCloskey (Brookfield, Conn.) and sophomore Justin Zook (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) also posted first-place finishes for the Pride. McCloskey was victorious in the 200 free (1:48.83) and 500 free (4:58.99), while Zook took first place in the 200 backstroke (2:06.22).

For Wheaton (6-1), sophomore Matthew Jordan took first place in both the 100 butterfly (56.50) and 100 backstroke (54.79).

On the women’s side, junior Meaghan O’Hara (Bedford, N.H.) had two individual victories and was a part of a winning relay team, leading the Pride (2-3) to a 155-103 victory.

O’Hara was triumphant in the 100 backstroke (1:02.59), 100 free (55.52), and teamed with classmates Alicia Hart (West Hartford, Conn.), Julianne McCormick (East Walpole, Mass.), and freshman Moira Price (Berkeley Heights, N.J.) to win the 200 medley relay in a time of 1:54.90.

Price was victorious in the 50 free (25.35), while fellow freshmen Kallie Pottle (Brewer, Maine) finished first in the 200 butterfly (2:21.64) and Liz Belmont (Haverhill, Mass.) took first in the 1000 free (11:27.47).

Senior All-American Sarah Strout (Boothbay, Maine) won both the 200 free (2:01.02) and 500 free (5:18.84) for the Pride.

Sophomores Emily Sheahan (Erin, N.Y.) and Kelley Ockerbloom (South Yarmouth, Mass.) also captured first-place finishes for the Pride. Sheahan won the 100 breaststroke (1:14.74), while Ockerbloom finished first in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:04.52.

Both the SC men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams will travel to Connecticut College on December 3 and 4 (Sat.-Sun.) to compete in the Conn. College Invitational.
Swim for Springfield College
Dive for Springfield College

2013 Swimming and Diving Team Guide

Team Links

Head Coach John Taffe

John Taffe John Taffe enters his 25th season in 2013-2014 as the head coach of the men's and women's swimming teams at Springfield College. Under Taffe’s leadership, the Pride has returned to its status as one of the best collegiate swimming and diving programs in Division III.Read more.

Contact Head Coach John Taffe

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3169

Diving Coach Peter Avdoulos

Peter Avdoulos Peter Avdoulos is regarded as one of the top diving coaches in the nation, and is entering his 29th season as the diving coach for both the men's and women's programs in 2013-2014. The current NEWMAC Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year, Avdoulos has coached countless All-New England and All-American divers, as well as several National Champions. Read more.

Contact Head Coach Peter Avdoulos

E-Mail | Phone: 413.748.3445

Springfield College 263 Alden Street, Springfield, MA 01109-3797 413.748.3000 | Employment at SC
Copyright 2008-2009 Springfield College. All rights reserved worldwide.
Site design and production: Office of Marketing & Communications.